Carlson Victory Lane @ La Crosse Speedway

By: Paul Reichert
August 3, 2019

Another warm summer night welcomed the race fans to the LaCrosse Speedway for the biggest show of the year. While the fans packed the stands for the annual Trailer Race of Destruction, they were treated to a little extra excitement in the Late Model feature before that. Contact between leaders Ty Majeski and Nick Pantizke late in the race gave Steve Carlson the lead and his fourth win of the season.

Jerimy Wagner (Onalaska, WI) got the jump on the field early in the Auto Value 25-lap Late Model feature. After struggling in qualifying, Ty Majeski (Seymour, WI) quickly made his way to the front as he got by Tony Bagstad (Westby, WI) for second. Majeski caught and passed Wagner to take over control of the race on lap six. Majeski tried to drive away from the field until a debris caution flew with five laps to go. That would bunch up the field with Nick Panitzke (Lonsdale, MN) battling Majeski right off the restart. They battled hard until they made contact in turn two with Majeski spinning. Both drivers were sent to the back, and Steve Carlson (West Salem, WI) took over the race lead. Carlson dove under Wagner on the restart and pulled away to claim his fourth win of the year. After the race, Carlson said “The late cautions gave us new life at the end of the race. We were a top five car at best before the cautions.”

Chris Weber (Sparta, WI) took the lead halfway through the Sportsmen feature. Weber would be challenged the rest of the way by Tom Luethe (West Salem, WI), his chief championship rival. Weber held back Luethe’s furious rally to score win number six on the year.

In the Hobby Stock feature, Adam Moore proved he can drive anybody’s car and win. Moore moved into the top spot six laps into the race and fought off Kaleb Hardy’s late challenge to claim the win.

Dakota Clausen took the lead four laps into the Hornet feature. Clausen survived a couple yellow flags periods to capture his first ever feature win in the division.

The night concluded with the crashing and bashing mayhem that makes the World Famous Trailer Race of Destruction exciting. After all the destruction and carnage took place, the fans got to vote on who did the best job destroying things. Tyler Miksckl’s school bus won out over Matt Yaeger, whose truck caught on fire at the end of the race.

Action continues next Saturday, August 9 with the Late Models, Sportsmen, Hobby Stock and Mini-Vans. The Late Models run the first of back-to-back Saturday nights of twin 20-lap features. Make sure to bring all the singles you can and your appetite for the second Buck Night of the season. Gates open at 6:00, qualifying starts at 6:10 and racing action begins at 7:30.

For more information about LaCrosse Speedway or the 2019 schedule of events, please call the office at 608-786-1525 or visit LaCrosse Speedway is proud to be a NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series.


Tobacco Outlet Plus Grocery NASCAR Late Models
Feature: 1. Steve Carlson, 2. Jerimy Wagner, 3. Matt Henderson, 4. Steve Bachman, 5. Adam Degenhardt
6-for-6 Dash: 1. S. Carlson, 2. Bachman, 3. Ty Reedy
Heat 1: 1. Brent Kirchner, 2. Degenhardt, 3. Tony Bagstad
Heat 2: 1. Mike Ehde, 2. Don Turner, 3. Jeff Partington
Qualifying: 1. Nick Panitzke, 2. Henderson, 3. Reedy

Mountain Dew AMP Game Fuel Sportsmen
Feature: 1. Chris Weber, 2. Tom Leuthe, 3. Jeff Thompson, 4. Chris Skrede, 5. Mark Challet
Dash: 1. Luethe, 2. Weber, 3. Thompson
Heat: 1. Niles, 2. Justin Berg, 3. Challet
Qualifying: 1. Luethe, 2. Weber, 3. Thompson

Auto Value Hobby Stocks
Feature: 1. Adam Moore, 2. Kaleb Hardy, 3. Jason Bolster, 4. Taylor Dobbs, 5. Alex Rud
Dash: 1. Krueger, Jr., 2. Bolster, 3. Rud
Qualifying: 1. Krueger, Jr., 2. Kaleb Hardy, 3. Bolster

ANT’s Complete Pest Control Hornets
Feature: 1. Dakota Clausen, 2. Shawn McCarthy, 3. Cheyanne Stanfield, 4. Jimmy Bjorkman, 5. Kris Berg
Heat 1: 1. Troy Tuma, 2. Mark Bornitz, 3. John Huebner
Heat 2: 1. Stanfield, 2. Rob Schliefer, 3. Bjorkman

Trailer Race of Destruction (Fan Vote): 1. Tyler Mikschl, 2. Matt Yaeger, 3. Bailey Brown

Scroll to top