By: Ashley Iwanski
(West Salem, WI – August 30, 2014) Two hundred laps of four-wide racing, tires flying, and cars on fire only means one thing. Saturday night was Enduro night at La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway presented by 2nd Chance Resale, New Horizons and Festival Foods. After fighting his way through three segments of racing Kyle Rozek was named the Enduro winner.

There were cars in the wall, cars in the infield, cars piled up in the corners and even cars driving in reverse down the front stretch. And that was just the first segment. Once the first 75 laps were complete the field was down 14 cars (30 cars started the race) and Josh Gernentz was in the lead.

One of the cars dragged off the track during the first segment was that of Mark Bornitz. He was leading the race when his car caught fire. He continued to race for two laps with his car ablaze before stopping on the back stretch for the flames to be put out.

That ended Bornitz’s night, but his race season isn’t over yet. He will be vying for the ANTS Complete Pest Control Hornets championship during Oktoberfest Race Weekend.

All the chaos in the first 75 laps carried over to the second segment. Cars were pushing and shoving each other around the quarter-mile track. The “Jam Truck”, used to push stalled cars off the track, made a few appearances throughout the 75-laps of racing.

Gernentz maintained the lead through most of the second segment until he pulled off the track with 10 laps to go. Once Gernentz was off the track Rozek was able to take over the top spot.

Sixteen cars started the 50-lap third segment. Rozek was in the lead with Gernentz in second. However, Gernentz was two laps down and needed to pass Rozek twice to get the lead back. He was able to make up one lap, but when time ran out he was still a half a lap down.

Gernentz was able to claim the second spot though, followed by Keith Larson, Bryce Wolfe and Mike Peters.

Rozek’s number 95 car, painted to look like Lightning McQueen from the movie “Cars”, also won the pre-Enduro Beauty Contest. Rozek had some tough competition though from second-place Brent Schwark’s number 21 “Ninja Turtles” car and John Edwards’ number 46 patriotic car that was given the third spot.

John Eron’s night couldn’t have gone much better. Not only did he win the United Auto Supply Street Stocks feature and was fast-time qualifier; he was also named the 2014 division champion. Eron ended the season with a 69 point lead over second-place Jonathan Burbach, who finished fourth in the feature. The only downside to Eron’s evening was the 27th place finish in the Enduro.

Saturday, September 6, Subway Restaurants presents the 23rd Annual Eve of Destruction. Check out all the great action, thrills, spills, stunts and excitement featuring Mechanical Mischief Monster Truck, Green Mamba Jet Car, and Steel Wall. Plus a Zimmerman Driving School Figure-8 Race, Roll-Over Contest and of course the Trailer Race of Destruction.

Friday, September 12 is another installment of Premier Powdercoating Friday Night Street Drags. Featured events include Bracket Racing, Burnout Contest, Shine N’ Show Contest and Pre-Event Grudge Matches. Your last opportunity to get in on the action is Saturday, October 11 in the 300’ Bracket Nationals.

If your calendars aren’t marked for the 45th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend they should be. All the action takes place October 2-5. Get ready for four straight days of stock car racing action including 17 different classes of cars, 700 laps of feature racing and 10 championships to be decided. Join your racing friends in the festive atmosphere to celebrate traditions. And don’t forget about the legendary post-race parties. For more information please call the Speedway office at (608) 786-1525 or visit

LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway is a proud NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series –

2nd Chance Resale/New Horizons/Festival Foods Enduro
200 Feature (31 Cars) — 1, Kyle Rozek, Tomah; 2, Josh Gernentz, Red Wing, Minn.; 3, Keith Larson, La Crosse; 4, Bryce Wolfe, Fountain City; 5, Mike Peters, Whitehall; 6, Devon Schiltz, La Crescent, Minn.; 7, Al Bartles, Tomah; 8, Mathew Brauner, Black River Falls; 9, Matthew Elliot, La Crosse; 10, Benji Rash, La Crosse; 11, Jesse Skelley, La Crosse; 12, Kyle Ranzenberger, Caledonia, Minn.; 13, Mike Talbert, Camp Douglas; 14, Nathan Leas, Waterville, Iowa; 15, Cody Hooverson, La Crosse; 16, Brian Radicki, La Crescent, Minn.; 17, Brett Padfield, Shakopee, Minn.; 18, Brent Schwark, Galesville; 19, Jonathan Burbach, Winona, Minn.; 20, Eric Thoeny, Winona, Minn.; 21, Bob Fort, Fountain City; 22, John Edwards, La Crosse; 23, Matt Luhmann, Winona, Minn.; 24, Taylor Dobbs, Galesville; 25, Kyle Ritter, La Crosse; 26, James Rittenhouse, Elroy; 27, John Eron, St. Germain; 28, Logan Berek, Black River Falls; 29, Al Dobbs, Galesville; 30, Mark Bornitz, Holmen; 31, Mark Wright, Waukon, Iowa.

United Auto Supply Street Stocks
2nd Chance Resale/New Horizons/Festival Foods 15 Feature (7 cars) — 1, John Eron, St. Germain; 2, Bob Fort, Fountain City; 3, Steven Brasda, Osseo; 4, Jonathan Burbach, Winona, Minn.; 5, Taylor Dobbs, Galesville; 6, Mike Peters, Whitehall; 7, Eric Thoeny, Winona, Minn.
Qualifying — 1, John Eron; 2, Steven Brasda; 3, Jonathan Burbach; 4, Bob Fort; 5, Mike Peters; 6, Taylor Dobbs; 7, Eric Thoeny.

Scroll to top