By:  Paul Reichert
July 10, 2021
A lot of action packed racing has happened throughout the years on the big 5/8-mile oval at the LaCrosse Speedway.  Once a year the big track takes the night off as the ‘action track’ quarter mile gets it night to shine.  The annual Quarter Mile Mania event took place with all the regular quarter mile divisions getting their chance to put on a big night of racing for the fans.  Mike Carlson tried to challenge Jake Schomers late in the Hornet feature, but Schomers would pull away to capture his first feature win of the season.
In the Sea Foam 15 lap Hornet feature Jake Schomers (LaCrescent, MN) quickly made his way through traffic to assume the race lead early.  Schomers was building up a big lead when point leader Michael Wachs, Jr. (Albert Lea, MN) blew up just before halfway to bring out the yellow.  Schomers started to open his lead on the restart but soon would have a challenge to his lead.  Mike Carlson (West Salem, WI) made his way around Kristopher Berg (Ettrick, WI) for second with five laps to go and tried to close the gap on the red 44 machine.  Schomers kept Carlson in his rear view as he crossed the finish line first to claim a very impressive win.
Using lap traffic for a ‘pick and roll’ with six laps to go in the Hobby Stock feature, Thomas Farra powered his way past Jason Bolster to capture his second straight feature win.  It was also Farra’s second straight clean sweep of the division.
John Huebner pulled away from Rob Stanfield in the final four laps of the Street Stock feature to run away with the feature win.
In the Mini-Van feature, Rob Stanfield shot past Bernie Lucey on a mid-race restart to take the checkered flag first and score a clean sweep of the division.
Rob Stanfield and Jake Schomers had a hard fought battle over the final six laps of the Six Shooter feature. Schomers bobbled with two laps to go, allowing Stanfield to pull away and claim his second victory of the night. 
In the High School Racing Association feature, defending track champion Ashton Kinsey got around Ryan Stanfield with five laps to go to drive away with his first win of the season.
The drivers got to participate in a very unique Contact Drags event.  The competitors were beating and banging on each other looking for a win.  In the championship final it would be Bernie Lucey taking on Rob Stanfield.  Stanfield survived the banging from Lucey going into turn one to drive away with number three on the night.
The night of quarter mile action ended with the Demolition Derby.  Twelve competitors started the race and it featured a lot of metal mangling mayhem.  Many bone jarring crunches and T-bone hits slowly whittled the field away.  After about ten minutes of hard hits, Don Smith would be the last car driving and win the Demolition Derby.
After taking 2020 off, the LaCrosse Interstate Fair returns for its 130th edition on Wednesday, July 14 through Sunday, July 18.  Wednesday night was a racing staple for many years at LaCrosse, and the Central Wisconsin Racing Association Late Models will help kickoff the fair once again.  The 2nd Annual Tribute to Larry Wehrs will feature a pair of 25 lap features for the CWRA Late Models, plus the Hornets and Street Stocks will also be a part of the program.  Gates open at 5:30, qualifying begins at 5:40 and the first green flag of the night flies at 7.
For more information about LaCrosse Speedway or the 2021 schedule of events, please call the track office at 608-786-1525 or visit our web site at  LaCrosse Speedway is proud to be a NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series.


ANT’s Complete Pest Control Hornets

Feature (15 laps):  1. Jake Schomers, 2. Mike Carlson, 3. Kristopher Berg, 4. Cheyanne Stanfield, 5. Andy Barney, 6. Robert Schliefer, 7. Joey Johnson III, 8. Ben Thurk, 9. Nick Hadler, 10. Keanna Barney, 11. Melissa Rusch, 12. Karl Schroeder, 13. Matthew Miller, 14. Kyle Cottone, 15. Abigail Knaack, 16. Travis Atkinson, 17. Justin Iverson, 18. Michael Wachs, Jr., 19. Tyler Stuber
Dash (6 laps):  1. Jake Schomers, 2. Michael Wachs, Jr., 3. Mike Carlson, 4. Andy Barney, 5. Cheyanne Stanfield, 6. Marc Luethe
Heat #1 (8 laps):  1. Robert Schliefer, 2. Kristopher Berg, 3. Ben Thurk, 4. Joey Johnson III, 5. Tyler Stuber, 6. Nick Hadler 
Heat #2 (8 laps):  1. Keanna Barney, 2. Melissa Rusch, 3. Matthew Miller, 4. Kyle Cottone, 5. Karl Schroeder, 6. Abigail Knaack, 7. Travis Atkinson
Qualifying:  1. Cheyanna Stanfield, 2. Mike Carlson, 3. Michael Wachs, Jr., 4. Marc Luethe, 5. Andy Barney, 6. Jake Schomers, 7. Kristopher Berg, 8. Joey Johnson III, 9. Robert Schliefer, 10. Tyler Stuber, 11. Ben Thurk, 12. NIck Hadler, 13. Justin Iverson, 14. Keanna Barney, 15. Abigail Knaack, 16. Karl Schroeder, 17. Matthew Miller, 18. Travis Atkinson, 19. Kyle Cottone, 20. Melissa Rusch (NO TIME)

Auto Value Hobby Stocks

Feature (15 laps):  1.  Thomas Farra, 2. Jason Bolster, 3. Cam Dezelske, 4. Scott Mahlum
Dash (8 laps):  1. Thomas Farra, 2. Jason Bolster, 3. Scott Mahlum, 4. Cam Dezelske
Qualifying:  1. Thomas Farra, 2. Jason Bolster, 3. Scott Mahlum, 4. Cam Dezelske

Auto Value Street Stocks

Feature (15 laps):  1. John Huebner, 2. Rob Stanfield, 3. Zach Liebsch, 4. Peter Thompson, 5. Steven Brasda, 6. Adam Kerley
Heat #1 (8 laps):  1. John Huebner, 2. Peter Thompson, 3. Zach Liebsch, 4. Steven Brasda, 5. Rob Stanfield
Qualifying:  1. Peter Thompson, 2. Zach Liebsch, 3. Steven Brasda, 4. Adam Kerley, 5. John Huebner, 6. Bernie Lucey, 7. Rob Stanfield (NO TIME)

Mountain Dew Mini-Vans

Feature (15 laps):  1. Rob Stanfield, 2. Bernie Lucey, 3. Al Bartels, 4. Kreg Miller, 5. Zach Liebsch
Heat #1 (8 laps):  1. Rob Stanfield, 2. Bernie Lucey, 3. Al Bartels, 4. Zach Liebsch, 5. Kreg Miller
Qualifying:  1. Rob Stanfield, 2. Zach Liebsch, 3. Bernie Lucey, 4. Kreg Miller, 5. Al Bartels (NO TIME)

Coulee Tire Six Shooters

Feature (15 laps):  1. Rob Stanfield, 2. Jake Schomers, 3. John Huebner, 4. Cody Bell, 5. Al Bartels, 6. Zach Liebsch, 7. Matthew Miller, 8. Bernie Lucey, 9. Tory Lockington, 10. Landon Lockington, 11. Adam Kerley, 12. Chris Christen 
Heat #1 (8 laps):  1. Zach Liebsch, 2. Al Bartels, 3. Matthew Miller, 4. Chris Christen, 5. Tory Lockington, 6. Cody Bell, 7. Landon Lockington
Heat #2 (8 laps):  1. John Huebner, 2. Rob Stanfield, 3. Bernie Lucey, 4. Jake Schomers, 5. Adam Kerley, 6. Lester Stanfield
Qualifying:  1. Rob Stanfield, 2. Jake Schomers, 3. John Huebner, 4. Lester Stanfield, 5. Adam Kerley, 6. Bernie Lucey, 7. Al Bartels, 8. Landon Lockington, 9. Chris Christen, 10. Tory Lockington, 11. Matthew Miller, 12. Cody Bell, 13. Zack Liebsch

High School Racing Association

Feature (15 laps):  1. Ashton Kinsey, 2. Braydon Lockington, 3. Ryan Stanfield, 4. Kelsey Clements, 5. Joey Miller, 6. Charlie Thompson
Heat #1 (8 laps):  1. Charlie Thompson, 2. Joey Miller, 3. Braydon Lockington, 4. Ryan Stanfield, 5. Ashton Kinsey, 6. Kelsey Clements
Qualifying:  1. Ashton Kinsey, 2. Braydon Lockington, 3. Kelsey Clements, 4. Ryan Stanfield, 5. Jason Bolster, 6. Charlie Thompson

Contact Drags

 1. Rob Stanfield, 2. Bernie Lucey, 3. Zach Liebsch, 4. John Huebner, 5. Matthew Miller

Demolition Derby

1. Don Smith
Scroll to top