By:  Paul Reichert
June 5, 2021
Another great crowd of race fans turned out at the LaCrosse Speedway despite the first appearance of the warm and sultry summer weather.  That warm weather always makes things interesting on the race track, and tonight was no exception.  While the usual front runners struggled to make their way through the field, Jacob Goede was on a mission to continue his recent hot streak.  Taking the lead just before halfway Goede left the field in his wake as he scored the win and continued the Late Model feature streak to start the season.  

In the Altra 25 lap NASCAR Late Model feature Adam Degenhardt (Coon Valley, WI) surged past Justin Mullikin (Holmen, WI) to take the lead at the start of the race.  As Degenhardt began to open up his advantage, Mike Carlson (West Salem, WI) powered his way past Mullikin on lap three to move up to second.  After suffering an issue with his rear end at the end of the 6-for-6 Dash, Jacob Goede (Carver, MN) began to thread his way through the field.  After getting around Mullikin and Carlson to claim second by lap eight, Goede then started to eat into Degenhardt’s lead right away.  By lap 11 Goede shot past Degenhardt to become the new race leader.  After Kenneth Donais (Sparta, WI) spun in turn two with nine laps to go, Matthew Henderson (LaCrosse, WI) lined up alongside Goede on the restart.  Henderson tried to keep pace with Goede on the outside but he was no match for the orange 72 machine.  Goede pulled away down the stretch to cross the finish line first and become the fifth different winner in five races.  After the race, Goede said “Despite our issue earlier in the night, our car was on rails in the feature tonight.”

In the Sportsmen feature, Sam Niles (Holmen, WI) pulled out to a big lead.   Opening day feature winner Justin Berg (Bangor, WI) and the pickup truck of Ed Ross (Melrose, WI) did everything they could to catch up to Niles.  Niles maintained a big enough cushion in the end to capture his third straight feature win.

The final four laps of the Hobby Stock feature were action packed.  Cars bumping each other and spinning out, leader John Clauson spinning himself out of the lead, and a leader suffering a mechanical failure on the final lap.  After the dust settled, Jason Bolster drove away with the victory.

In the Six Shooter feature, Rob Stanfield had to contend with opening day feature winner Alex Liebsch over the last few laps.  Stanfield built up enough of a lead to see the checkered flag first.

Mitchell Berg took the lead five laps into the High School Racing Association feature.  Braydon Lockington tried to reel in Berg over the final five laps, but Berg checked out on the field and scored the win.

The Six Shooters got their opportunity to run the ‘Joker Lap’ Race as this week’s Novelty Event.  With a tire placed in the middle of turn one, competitors had to take a high line around the tire.  John Huebner took his early and fought back his teammate Rob Stanfield to claim the win and remain the ‘King of the Jokers’.

Action continues next Saturday, June 12 with the annual Fastor Pastor races as pastors and reverends from across the Coulee Region tackle the action track quarter mile for the first time.  The Late Models, Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks, Hornets and Street Stocks will also be a part of another exciting night of racing.  Gates open at 5:30, qualifying fires up at 5:40 and racing action begins at 7.
For more information about LaCrosse Speedway or the 2021 schedule of events, please call the track office at 608-786-1525 or visit us on the web at lacrossespeedway.com.  LaCrosse Speedway is proud to be a NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series.


Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Models

Feature (25 laps):  1. Jacob Goede, 2. Matthew Henderson, 3. Mike Carlson, 4. Jerimy Wagner, 5. Nick Murgic, 6. Steve Bachman, 7. Steve Carlson, 8.Justin Mullikin, 9. Tony Leis, 10. Adam Oxborough, 11. NIck Clements, 12. Michael Beamish, 13. Brent Kirchner, 14. Don Turner, 15. Brad Powell, 16. Joseph Scholze, 17. Kenneth Donais, 18. Mandi McKinney, 19. Carter Christenson, 20. Adam Degenhardt, 21. Billy Mohn, 22. Jimmy Summerfield, 23. Cole Howland
6-for-6 Dash (6 laps):  1. Jerimy Wagner, 2. Mike Carlson, 3. Matthew Henderson, 4. Brad Powell, 5. Nick Clements, 6. Jacob Goede
Heat #1 (8 laps):  1. Michael Beamish, 2. Steve Bachman, 3. Brent Kirchner, 4. Adam Degenhardt, 5. Nick Murgic, 6. Steve Carlson, 7. Cole Howland, 8. Justin Mullikin, 9. Adam Oxborough
Heat #2 (8 laps):  1. Tony Leis, 2. Billy Mohn, 3. Don Turner, 4. Carter Christenson, 5. Joseph Scholtz, 6. Kenneth Donais, 7. Mandi McKinney, 8. Jimmy Summerfield
Qualifying:  1. Jacob Goede, 2. Matthew Henderson, 3. Brad Powell, 4. Nick Clements, 5. Jerimy Wagner, 6. MIke Carlson, 7. Nick Murgic, 8. Cole Howland, 9. Steve Carlson, 10. Adam Oxborough, 11. Adam Degenhardt, 12. Steve Bachman, 13. Justin Mullikin, 14. Michael Beamish, 15. Brent Kirchner, 16. Devin Schmidt, 17. Billy Mohn, 18. Joseph Scholze, 19. Carter Christenson, 20. Tony Leis, 21. Don Turner, 22. Kenneth Donais, 23. Mandi McKinney, 24. Jimmy Summerfield

LawnKeepers Sportsmen

Feature (15 laps):  1. Sam Niles, 2. Ed Ross, 3. Justin Berg, 4. Travis Gordon, 5. Dexter Malin
Dash (8 laps):  1. Justin Berg, 2. Sam Niles, 3. Ed Ross, 4. Travis Gordon, 5. Dexter Malin
Qualifying:  1. Justin Berg, 2. Sam Niles, 3. Travis Gordon, 4. Dexter Malin, 5. Ed Ross (NO TIME)

Auto Value Hobby Stocks

Feature (15 laps):  1. Jason Bolster, 2. John Clauson, 3. Brandon Gallagher, 4. Lester Stanfield, 5. Landon Lockington
Dash (6 laps):  1. Jason Bolster, 2. Brandon Gallagher, 3. Lester Stanfield, 4. John Clauson, 5. Landon Lockington
Qualifying:  1. Brandon Gallagher, 2. Jason Bolster, 3. John Clauson, 4. Lester Stanfield, 5. Landon Lockington

Six Shooters

Feature (15 laps):  1. Rob Stanfield, 2. Alex Liebsch, 3. John Huebner, 4. Cody Bell, 5. Tim Murphy Sr., 6. Al Bartels, 7. Adam Kerley, 8. Jake Schomers, 9. Landon Lockington, 10. Zach Liebsch, 11. Tory Lockington, 12. Bernie Lucey, 13. Matthew Miller, 14. Chris Christen, 15. Jestin DeLap Sr.
Heat #1 (8 laps):  1. Tory Lockington, 2. Jake Schomers, 3. Al Bartels, 4. Chris Christen, 5. Landon Lockington, 6. Matthew Miller, 7. Bernie Lucey, 8. Cody  Bell, 9. Keesha Faude
Heat #2 (8 laps):  1. Rob Stanfield, 2. Andy Muller, 3. Alex Liebsch, 4. John Huebner, 5. Zach Liebsch, 6. Jestin DeLap Sr., 7. Adam Kerley, 8. Tim Murphy Sr.
Qualifying:  1. John Huebner, 2. Tim Murphy Sr., 3. Alex Liebsch, 4. Adam Kerley, 5. Rob Stanfield, 6. Jestin DeLap Sr., 7. Zach Liebsch, 8. Andy Muller, 9. Bernie Lucey, 10. Cody Bell, 11. Landon Lockington, 12. Al Bartels, 13. Jake Schomers, 14. Matthew Miller, 15. Tory Lockington, 16. Chris Christen, 17. Keesha Faude

High School Racing Association

Feature (15 laps):  1. Mitchell Berg, 2. Braydon Lockington, 3. Ashton Kinsey, 4. Charlie Thompson, 5. Kelsey Clements, 6. Joey Miller, 7. Ryan Stanfield
Heat #1 (4 laps):  1. Braydon Lockington, 2. Mitchell Berg, 3. Ryan Stanfield, 4. Joey Miller, 5. Charlie Thompson, 6. Ashton Kinsey, 7. Kelsey Clements, 8. Jestin DeLap Jr. 
Qualifying:  1. Mitchell Berg, 2. Ashton Kinsey, 3. Ryan Stanfield, 4. Braydon Lockington, 5. Charlie Thompson, 6. Jestin DeLap Jr., 7. Joey Miller, 8. Kelsey Clements 


‘Joker Lap’ Race:  1. John Huebner, 2. Rob Stanfield, 3. Adam Kerley, 4. Alex Liebsch, 5. Josh Bell, 6. Al Bartels, 7. Bernie Lucey, 8. Matthew Miller, 9. Chris Christen, 10. Jake Schomers, 11. Zach Liebsch
Scroll to top