By:  Paul Reichert June 27, 2020
A huge crowd came out to the La Crosse Speedway for a night of smashing and crashing during the annual Smash-O-Rama.  The fans would not only witness hard hits and exciting racing action, but they would also be thrilled by big air stunts from some very unique vehicles.

Boat Race Winner
Boat Race Winner

The Boat Race of Destruction was the final and biggest event of the evening with a lot of crashing, smashing and destruction of boats.  When all the dust and fiberglass and smoke settled, the fan vote came down to two competitors.  Jared Novak was without his three little duckies, but he got the biggest crowd response to beat out Tyler Mickschl and ‘The Mystery Machine’.

The ATV Big Air Tour from Minnesota made its debut at LaCrosse, and they thrilled the fans with their 75 foot leaps in the air.  ATV riders Adam Thene and John Langaas also performed some death-defying freestyle tricks to leave the crowd in awe.

Big Air ATV Image
Big Air ATV

The innovators of catching big air, the monster trucks, also made their appearance at Smash-O-Rama.  Josh Baumgartner from Litchfield, MN driving Mechanical Mischief was joined by Brad Shippert and Against the Grain from Dixon, IL.  Both drivers crushed cars, flew through the air, and even did some wheelies and burnouts to excite the crowd.

Dan Frye took the lead midway through the Street Stock feature with his teammate Matt Moore on his tail.  Both drivers battled for the win as they worked their way through lap traffic, but Frye held off Moore to take the checkered flag first.

David Treu Jr Winner Circle
David Treu Jr Winner Circle

In the Mini-Van feature, David Treu, Jr. drove around Matthew Bornheimer for the lead on lap six and captured his first career feature win at La Crosse.  The win was extra special for Treu since he was driving a mini-van that resembled his dad’s ‘taxi cab’ paint scheme from years ago.

Jonathan Burbach hit the T-Bone Crash perfectly as his nailed the other car square in the windshield and drove on top of the other car down the front straight. The Burnout Contest saw a little bit of tire smoke fill the air as Jonathan Burbach out burned John Clauson to win the fan vote.

The Backup Race was filled with a lot of excitement as the competitors drove their cars in reverse and the wrong way around the track.  Chris Larson mastered driving in reserve best to take the victory.

Before any smashing or crashing could begin, 14 drivers teamed up with 14 fans for the Driver-Fan Egg Toss.  Street Stock driver Rob Stanfield and his fan partner Hunter Kawalski did the best job tossing the egg to score an egg-tra special win. 

Action continues on Thursday, July 2 with the annual Star Spangled Spectacular.  The Late Models will compete in twin 20 lap features.  They will be joined by the Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks, Hornets and the High School Racing Association.  Stick around after the races for the biggest fireworks show in western Wisconsin.  Gates open at 6:00, qualifying starts at 6:15 and racing takes the green flag at 7:30.

For more information about LaCrosse Speedway or the 2020 schedule of events, please call the office at 608-786-1525 or visit our web site at  LaCrosse Speedway is proud to be a NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series.

Auto Value Street Stocks Feature:  1. Dan Frye, 2. Matt Moore, 3. Dustin McCracken, 4. Chris Larson, 5. Rob Stanfield

Heat 1:  1. John Clauson, 2. Alex Liebsch, 3. Jonathan Burbach

Heat 2:  1. Clayton Haessig, 2. Joshua Zacharias, 3. Keith Larson

Heat 3:  1. Frye, 2. M. Moore, 3. McCrackenQualifying:  1.  R. Stanfield, 2. M. Moore, 3. Jestin DeLap, Sr.

Mountain Dew Mini-Vans Feature:  1. David Treu, Jr., 2. Matthew Bornheimer, 3. Chris Larson, 4. Jonathan Burbach, 5. Zack Liebsch

Heat 1:  1. Treu, Jr., 2. Bornheimer, 3. C. Larson

Qualifying:  1. John Huebner, 2. C. Larson, 3. Keith Larson

Backup Race:  1.  Chris Larson, 2. Jonathan Burbach, 3. Keith Larson

Boat Race (Fan Vote):  1. Jared Novak, 2. Tyler Mickschl, 3. John Huebner

Scroll to top