LACROSSE SPEEDWAY ANNOUNCES 2020 TENTATIVE SCHEDULE

Short Track NinjaNews

(West Salem, Wi) Officials of the LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway announced today that the 2020 season will commence on Saturday May 16 with the inaugural “Spring Fling” event. The “Spring Fling” will see the return of the NASCAR Late Models with twin 20 lap features, plus the Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks and Hornet divisions. Racing action for the Spring Fling will start at 2pm. In fact, all oval track racing events in May will see a 2pm start. Racing will commence every Saturday through the middle of August. There will be no racing on July 3, rather the Late Models will highlight the Star Spangled Spectacular on a special midweek event- Thursday July 2. The July 2nd event will include double 20 lap Late Model features, Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks, Hornets and an awesome fireworks extravaganza. Saturday July 11th will see the return of the “Quarter Mile Mania” featuring the Street Stocks, Hobby Stocks, Hornets and the very popular Demo Derby. The July 18th Fair Time Special will host the Late Models in another pair of 20 lap features. Trailer Race fans will get to see the carnage of that event on Saturday August 1 and on Sept.12. Weekly Late Model racing will conclude on August 15th. Thrill seekers will get to witness five events in 2020: the Annual “Smash O Rama” on Saturday June 27th, the Quarter Mile Mania demo derby on July 11th, the Trailer Race of Destruction on August 1st, the Enduro 200 will take place on Sept. 5th and the “Night of Destruction” will take place on Sept. 12th. Street Drag fans will have six dates on the calendar this year. Street Drags will be run on the second Friday of the month, starting on Friday May 8th. Two special Street Drag events will take place: Fair Time Friday July 17th and Saturday afternoon Oct. 17th. The Street Drags will see a reformulation of the Brackets, with several new ones being added. The WCEC will host their annual car show on Sunday July 19th. A concert(s) is tentatively scheduled for August 21 and or 22nd.

The 51st annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend will be run on Oct. 8-10th. The Oktoberfest will again play host to the Super Late Models on Thursday and Friday. The ARCA Midwest tour will compete on Saturday and Sunday. Late Model, Sportsmen, Trucks, Vintage, and 4-cylinder cars will be on hand. In total over 18 Divisions will compete at this prestigious event.

New for 2020: The Speedway will be adding a High School or “Juniors” division. This division is open to any youth from the ages of 14 through a High School Senior. This division will use the Street Stock rules package (with some additional enhancements) and race 6 times in 2020. The division will be part of a State wide “High School” point standings. There will also be wide range of new and wacky novelty events each race night.
For more information, contact the Speedway (608)786-1525 or at info@lacrossespeedway.com

2020 Tentative Schedule:

Friday May 8- (7:30) Street Drags: 18+ Brackets
Saturday May 9- (7 am) Start of LaCrosse half marathon. (11am-3pm) Race team Pre-season practice session.
Saturday May 16- (2 pm) Spring Fling season Opener: Late Models (twin 20 feature), Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks and Hornets.
Saturday May 23- (2 pm) Late Models, Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks and Street Stocks.
Saturday May 30- (2 pm) Late Models, Sportsmen, Hobbies, Hornets and Mini Vans. Buck Night- All concession items $1, beer $2.
Saturday June 6- (7:30) Late Models, Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks and Street Stocks.
Friday June 12- (7:30) Street Drag: 18+ Brackets
Saturday June 13- (7:30) Late Models, Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks, Hornets and Juniors
Saturday June 20- (7:30) Twin 20 Late Model features, Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks, Hornets, Vans and Fan Photo night
Saturday June 27- 7:30) Smash O Rama featuring a cycle aerial display, boat race, Fireworks and more. *
Thurs. July 2- (7:30) Star Spangle Spectacular- twin 20 Late Models features, Sportsmen, Hobbies, Juniors and Fireworks
Friday July 10- (7:30) Street Drags: 18+ Brackets
Saturday July 11- (7:30) Quarter Mile Mania- Hornets, Street Stocks, Vans, Contact Drags and Demo Derby
Friday July 17- (7:30) Fair Time Street Drags: 18+ Brackets
Saturday July 18- (7:30) Twin 20 Late Model feature, Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks and Vintage Cars
Sunday July 19- (Noon) WCEC car show (t)
Saturday July 25- (7:30) Late Models, Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks, Hornets, and Juniors.
Saturday Aug 1- (7:30) Late Models, Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks, Hornets and Trailer Race of Destruction
Saturday Aug. 8- (7:30) Late Models, Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks, Street Stocks and Juniors. Plus: Buck Night Concession items $1.
Saturday Aug. 14- (7:30) Fair Time Street Drags: 18+ Brackets
Saturday Aug. 15- (7:30) Twin 20 Late Model features, Sportsmen, Hornets and Vans.
Fri./Saturday Aug. 21/ 22- (TBA) Concert
Saturday Sept. 5- 200 Lap Enduro, High School Racing Association Region event.
Friday Sept. 11- (7:30) Fair Time Street Drags: 18+ Brackets
Saturday Sept. 12 (7pm) Night of Destruction- Motorcycle aerial display, jet car, Monster Trucks, Trailer Race, Fireworks and more.
Thurs. Oct. 8- Oktoberfest Race Weekend- Featuring 18 Divisions of the finest in Midwest Racing.
Saturday Oct. 17 (2pm) Street Drags 300’ Nationals.