January 22, 2018

(West Salem, WI) – With the 2017 racing season is now officially in the record books, race teams at LaCrosse Speedway can now officially look ahead to the 2018 racing season.

Drivers, teams and officials celebrated at the speedway’s 31st annual Champions’ Banquet, held at Onalaska’s Stoney Creek Inn Conference Center last Friday night.

Over 100 awards throughout the evening were distributed, including the prestigious “Sportsman of the Year” award.

Five Star Race Car Bodies sponsored a $500 product gift certificate giveaway to one lucky Late Model Driver at the conclusion of Budweiser Social Hour. Winner of the contest and the Five Star certificate was Brad Powell.

For the first time ever, the event was live-streamed on the internet by sponsor Dean’s Satellite and Security of Sparta. The video is available to watch on the Dean’s Satellite Facebook page.

Speedway pastor Andrew Buhrow gave his annual invocation to the guests, and during the ceremony presented his annual “Racing Family of the Year” award to “No-Limitz Racing,” a group of Street Stocks Drivers that teamed up for 2017.

Fans and drivers were able to vote by ballot online this year for several of the awards, including Best Appearing Car, Most Popular Driver, Outstanding Performance, and more.

The event drew to a close with the annual Sportsman of the Year Award. This prestigious award recognized track announcer Dan Deicher for his commitment to short track racing. Most known for his announcing at the LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway, Deicher also has a local TV and Radio Show covering local racing, and is instrumental in several projects away from the track that benefit local race teams and community members in need.

A complete gallery of award winners will be available in coming weeks on track photographer Mary Schill’s website, www.fortedesignsite.com.

The 2018 season and the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series begins on Sunday afternoon, April 22nd with the running of the Budweiser “Frostbuster” race, and weekly Saturday Night racing commences on May 12th.

For more information about the LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway or the 2018 season, please call the speedway office at 608-786-1525, email lacrossespeedway@yahoo.com, or visit www.lacrossespeedway.com.

2017 LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway Award Recipients:


Tobacco Outlet Plus Grocery NASCAR Late Models: Nick Panitzke

Dean’s Satellite Sportsmen: Randy Humfeld

Auto Value Thunderstox: Adam Moore

ANTS Complete Pest Control Hornets: Mark Bornitz

Auto Value Street Stocks: Chris Sampson

Subway Restaurants Outlawz: Jerry Aylsworth

Mountain Dew Mini-Vans: Matt Moore

Budweiser Dash:

Cole Howland (Late Model), Randy Humfeld (Sportsmen), Adam Moore (Thunderstox);

Novelty Champion: Robert Stanfield

Rookie of the Year:

Thunderstox – Taylor Dobbs, Sportsmen – Adam Oxborough, Late Model – Jesse Pokszyk;

Best Appearing Car Award (Race Team Vote): Mini-Vans-Matt Moore, Outlawz – Glenn Bush Jr., Street Stocks – Alex Liebsch, Hornet – Brandon LeMoine, Thunderstox – Adam Moore, Sportsmen – Mandi Eckelberg, Late Model – Carter Christenson;

Best Appearing Car Award (Fan Vote): Mini-Vans – Kayla Vian, Outlawz – Jerry Aylsworth, Street Stocks – Jonathon Burbach, Hornet – Jimmy Bjorkman, Thunderstox – Adam Moore, Sportsmen – Randy Humfeld, Late Model – Nick Clements;

Best Appearing Race Team: Street Stocks – No Limitz Racing, Hornets – Liebsch/Heyer Racing, Thunderstox – Hardy Racing, Sportsmen – Luethe Racing, Late Model – Eckelberg Racing

Outstanding Performance Award: Outlawz – Jerry Aylsworth, Street Stocks – Chris Sampson, Hornets – Kayla Vian, Thunderstox – Joey Johnson, Sportsmen – Brad Warthan, Late Model – Jesse Pokszyk

Race Team Social Media Award: CK Racing (Mike Carlson)

Most Improved Driver: Street Stocks – William Tumaniec, Hornets – Cheyanne Stanfield, Thunderstox – Mark Challet, Sportsmen – Justin Berg, Late Model – Carter Christenson;

Showmanship Award: Thunderstox-Tyler Stuber, Sportsmen-Jeff Thompson, Late Model-Jonathan Eckelberg

Competition Achievement awards: Jason Schaller, Ryan Brown, Mike Ehde, Adam Oxborough, Jeff Sarver, Taylor Dobbs, Don Thunder Turner

Racing Family of the Year by Pastor Andy: No Limitz Racing

Special Recognition Award: Pastor Andy Buhrow, No Limitz Racing

Good Luck Award: Street Stocks – Alex Rud, Hornets – Brandon LeMoine, Thunderstox – Jason Schaller, Sportsmen – Brian Hesselberg, Late Model – Ryan Brown;

Sharing Award: Henderson Motorsports

Most Popular Driver Award (Fan Balloting): Mini-Vans – Matt Moore, Outlawz – Jerry Aylsworth, Street Stocks – Jonathon Burbach, Hornet – Jimmy Bjorkman, Thunderstox – Adam Moore, Sportsmen – Steve Bachman, Late Model – Nick Clements;

2017 Sportsman of the Year: Dan Deicher

Scroll to top