By: Aspen Andre
(West Salem, WI – August 19, 2017) On a gorgeous August night at La Crosse Speedway, fans flooded the stands to watch the close points battles going on in the last night of weekly racing for the 2017 season.

During the first Tobacco Outlet Plus Grocery Late Model feature of the night, Nick Clements found himself in the top spot early in the race as he took the lead in lap 3 of the first 20 lap feature. Clements would be able to fight off Cole Howland to take home his first ever Late Model feature win. Howland followed behind in second and Brent Kirchner finished third.

Jesse Pokszyk found himself in the top spot during the second Tobacco Outlet Plus Grocery Late Model feature on lap 1, but wouldn’t stay there for all 20 laps as Nick Panitzke was charging to the front trying to earn himself feature win number 5 of the year. Panitzke would take over the lead on lap 13 and stay there until the final checkered flag of the night flew. Brent Kirchner would follow Panitzke across the line to finish second and Nick Clements ended in third.

The Dean’s Satellite Security Sportsmen feature saw Jeff Thompson take the early race lead on lap 1. Thompson fought off Chris Weber until lap 7 when Weber took the lead away. However, Weber had problems on lap 9 and had to leave the racing surface for the remainder of the race. Brian Hesselberg, who was out for a month after a nasty wreck earlier in the year, took over the lead from there. Hesselberg would hold onto the top spot until the end of the race to take home his second win of the night after winning the 6 for 6 Bud Dash earlier in the night as well. Randy Humfeld passed Steve Bachman on the last lap to finish second and Steve Bachman ended in third.

Kayla Lockington led the Auto Value Thunderstox field around the track for laps 2 through 8 during the feature tonight until Jason Bolster took over for a brief second during lap 9. But points leader, Adam Moore, wasn’t going to allow that as he took the lead on lap 10 and would stay there until the checkered flag flew to take home his 8th feature win of the year. Jason Bolster finished second and Bill Schott third.

Tom Farra took the lead in the Auto Value Street Stocks feature on lap 6 of 15 and would run away with it from there. Rob Stanfield would follow behind in second. Chris Larson would end in third.

Cole Howland wins the 2017 Late Model 6 for 6 Bud Dash Championship on a tie breaker due to having more dash wins. Adam Moore wins 2017 Thunderstox Bud Dash Championship. After another tie determined a Bud Dash Championship as Steve Bachman was declared the Sportsmen Dash Champion over Brad Warthan.

The next event on the Speedway calendar is Friday, August 26 for Autocross where you can test your skills on a closed-circuit road course.

For more information please call the Speedway office at (608) 786-1525 or visit

LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway is a proud NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series –

Click here for the full results.

Scroll to top