January 23, 2017 (West Salem, WI) – The 2016 racing season is now officially in the record books, as race teams took one last look back at the season just passed during LaCrosse Speedway’s Awards Banquet last Friday night.

Racers from all six divisions plus many of this year’s Great Northern Sportsman Series and Midwest Dash Series drivers celebrated at the speedway’s 30th annual Champions’ Banquet, held at Onalaska’s Stoney Creek Inn Conference Center.

Over 100 awards throughout the evening were distributed, including the prestigious “Sportsman of the Year” award. “It’s a great opportunity to get together with our racing family during the off-season,” commented track announcer Dan Deicher. “KQEG TV was on hand with their camera and we filmed an awards banquet special edition of their racing TV show. In addition to on-stage videos and photo slide shows, it really has that big special-event feel, and I can’t thank everyone enough that attended to make this a fun night,” continued Deicher.

Five Star Race Car Bodies sponsored a $500 product gift certificate giveaway to one lucky Late Model Driver at the conclusion of Budweiser Social Hour. Winner of the contest and the Five Star certificate was Steve Carlson.

Speedway pastor Andrew Buhrow gave his annual invocation to the guests, and during the ceremony presented his annual “Racing Family of the Year” award to the Lockington Family. Ron, his daughter Kayla, plus Shawn and his son Kyle all found time behind the driver’s wheel in 2016.

The University of Northwestern Ohio award through the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series rewarded Kaleb Hardy $500 as the highest finishing youth.

Fans and drivers were able to vote by ballot online this year for several of the awards, including Best Appearing Car, Most Popular Driver, Outstanding Performance, and more.

The Great Northern Sportsman Series and Midwest Dash Series each congratulated its top five drivers, and Champions Dave Trute and Kyle Stark. All award winners had the opportunity to get photos taken with their new hardware and family or friends by Mary Schill, of ForteDesignSite.com

The event drew to a close with the annual Sportsman of the Year Award. This prestigious award recognized the Henderson Racing Team in the Late Model Division. “The Henderson team is very proactive in the community, and each December spends thousands of dollars to help out local families in need and make their Christmas season brighter,” Deicher continued. “I couldn’t think of a more fitting recipient of this prestigious award for 2016,” concluded Deicher.

The 2017season and the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series begins on Sunday afternoon, April 30th with the running of the Budweiser “Frostbuster” race.

For more information about the LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway or the 2017 season, please call the speedway office at 608-786-1525, email lacrossespeedway@yahoo.com, or visit www.lacrossespeedway.com.

2016 LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway Award Recipients:


Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Models: Steve Carlson

Dean’s Satellite Sportsmen: Nick Clements

Auto Value Thunderstox: Andy Moore

ANTS Complete Pest Control Hornets: Kris Berg

Auto Value Street Stocks: Al Bartels

Subway Restaurants Outlawz: Jason Stark

Mountain Dew Mini-Vans: Mike Peters

Budweiser Dash: Steve Carlson (Late Model), Nick Clements (Sportsmen), Andy Moore (Thunderstox); Novelty Champion: Robert Stanfield

Rookie of the Year: Thunderstox – Christopher Christen, Sportsmen – Jason Stark, Late Model – Rob Christen;

Best Appearing Car Award: Outlawz – Jason Stark, Street Stocks – Mike Peters, Hornet – Cheyanne Stanfield, Thunderstox – Kyle Lockington, Sportsmen – Nick Clements, Late Model – Don “Thunder” Turner;

Best Appearing Race Team: Christopher Christen Racing, Henderson Motorsports, Brian Hesselberg Racing

Outstanding Performance Award: Jason Stark, Taylor Dobbs, Jordan Young, Jason Schaller, Steve Bachman, Adam Degenhardt

Most Improved Driver: Outlawz – Mark Challet, Street Stocks – Andy Feldkamp, Hornets – Kris Berg, Thunderstox – Bill Schott, Sportsmen – Brad Warthan, Late Model – Cam Dezelske;

Showmanship Award: Melissa Rusch, Jeff Thompson, Jonathan Eckelberg

Competition Achievement awards: Taylor Dobbs, Mark Challet, Justin Berg, Jerimy Wagner, Justin Mullikin, Thomas Farra, Stacy Owen

Racing Family of the Year by Pastor Andy: Lockington Family;

Special Recognition Award: John Gilbertson, Devin Schmidt

Good Luck Award: Outlawz – Jason Bolster, Street Stocks – Taylor Dobbs, Hornets – Robert Stanfield, Thunderstox – Scott Mahlum, Sportsmen – Sam Niles, Late Model – Justin Zmyewski;

Sharing Award: Eckelberg Racing;

Most Popular Driver Award (Fan Balloting): Outlawz – Jason Bolster, Street Stocks – John Eron, Hornet – Brandon LeMoine, Thunderstox – Kayla Lockington, Sportsmen – Nick Clements, Late Model – Mike Carlson;

2016 Sportsman of the Year: Henderson Motorsports

Scroll to top