By: Dave Noelke (West Salem, WI – August 20, 2016)
Seven is a lucky number for many and tonight, Ty Majeski used his row seven starting spot to his advantage twice, to take his 8th and 9th 2016 feature wins at LaCrosse Speedway.

Mired back in a thirteenth starting spot, Majeski proved to be a man on a mission in the first Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Model Feature. Jesse Pokszyk got out to an early lead, before Cole Howland took command by the fifth lap. Majeski, meanwhile was marching through the field, and looking for additional points in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national standings. After the first lap, Mike Carlson, Steve Carlson and Majeski were nose-to-tail, 6th through 8th, but by Lap 8, the black #91 had moved through the field all the way up into second.

The race went caution free, without incident, but Majeski had enough time to take control of the lead, as he dove under Howland on the eleventh lap coming out of turn four. As Carlson (Steve) couldn’t quite hang with Majeski, lapped traffic late in the race gave him enough to close the gap and get around Howland on the last lap for second. Fourth place was Pokszyk and Adam Degenhardt moved up from his ninth starting spot to finish fifth.

“There is no need to push too hard as we have to run the same tires in the second feature, so I was just kind of riding around there once I got in the lead,” commented Majeski after the race. “Knowing I had to run these tires again tonight, the car is really good and we got through traffic pretty quick. The 1 car got a pretty big lead and has been pretty fast all year. Fortunately I was able to run him down and make the pass.”

The second feature was a bit more difficult for Majeski, as he started fourteenth and worked his way to the lead with seven laps to go. Adam Degenhardt, the tenth place starter made it to the front quicker than did Majeski, taking the lead on lap five. “Our crew did a lot of work on the car, but my hat’s off to the Majeski team, they earned their win tonight,” commented Degenhardt.

“I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to catch him (Degenhardt) by the end of the race, because we were on used tires, from the first feature,” Majeski told the crowd after the second feature. I can’t thank my crew enough, my guys did a great job prepping the car this week,” concluded Majeski.

Caution was the name of the game in the Auto Value Thunderstox main event, where Andy Moore passed Jason Schaller on the last lap to win. Schaller led 10 of 15 laps and held off the field through five separate cautions before Moore powered his way around in turns one and two to beat Schaller to the line.

The Dean’s Satellite Sportsmen feature had Mark Challet starting on the pole and grabbing the lead. But by the fourth lap, Nathan Borchardt ended up into the turn two wall, and the damage was too extensive to continue and complete the race. After the restart, the field lasted just one lap under green until Sam Niles went sliding into the turn one wall. With five laps to go Mandi Eckelberg spun in turn two bringing out a third yellow. But by the time the checkers flew, it was Jeff Thompson taking a powerful lead and was not to be denied his first Sportsmen feature win. He beat out Nick Clements, after starting fourteenth and passing almost the entire field, followed by Justin Berg, Brian Hesselberg and Devin Schmidt.

The Auto Value Street Stocks feature went caution free and it was Keith Larson taking the checkered flag, his first of the year. Dakota Miller was second, followed by Thomas Farra, point leader Taylor Dobbs and Al Bartels.

Our next event at the La Crosse Speedway is Saturday, August 27th for Street Drags, where you can drag race your own car, truck, cycle, SUV and more!

For more information please call the Speedway office at (608) 786-1525 or visit

LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway is a proud NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series –

click here for the full results.

Scroll to top