By: Stephanie Johnson
(West Salem, WI – August 15, 2015) On another hot night in the racing world, we saw an estimated 3000 people attend State Bank Financial Buck Night at the LaCrosse Speedway.

The Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Models saw 2 cautions tonight, but Ty Majeski was having none of that.

The field was brought to the green by Jason Dummer and Justin Zmyewski, but Matthew Henderson came from outside row two to battle Dummer for the lead. Henderson took the lead on lap 2 but was quickly being caught by Mike Carlson. Carlson took the lead on the inside of turn 1 on the very next lap.

Ty Majeski and Brad Powell were coming to the front when Majeski slid past Powell for 2nd on the backstretch of lap 16. Shawn Pfaff was all over the back bumper of Powell trying to get the 3rd spot from him and took in turn 3.

Halfway thru the race, Mike Carlson has a sizeable lead over Majeski. With 6 laps to go Cam Dezelske spins in turn 2. This brings out the orange cone. The front row saw Mike Carlson and Majeski take the green flag for the restart. Majeski takes the lead with 5 to go and pulls away from Carlson. As the checkered flag dropped, Majeski was declared the winner for the 2nd weekend in a row and his 3rd feature of the season, here at the LaCrosse Speedway. Rounding out the top five were: Shawn Pfaff, Steve Carlson, Mike Carlson and Cole Howland.

Dean’s Satellite and Security Sportsmen were brought to the green flag by Mark Challet and Justin Mullikin. Challet and Mullikin battled for a couple laps to see who was going to take the point, but it was Challet that pulled in front of Mullikin.

Challet was quickly challenged by Jimmy Gilster for the top spot. Gilster went to the outside of Challet for the lead. With this pass Gilster brought Brian Hesselberg, Nick Clements and Steve Bachman with him. Gilster lead the race at the half way point, but was having to hold off the hard charge of Clements who passed Hesselberg for 2nd with 5 laps to go. Challet spun in turn 2 bringing out the caution.

After the orange cone chess match, the front row was made up of Gilster and Clements. After the green flag flew again, Clements passed Gilster in turn 2 for the lead. Gilster came charging back and it was a mad dash for the checkers. When the checkered flag dropped, Nick Clements found himself winning his 8th feature of the year. Clements told Dan Deicher, in an on track interview, “This night was fun, with some great side by side racing action.”

Melissa Rusch and Scott Mahlum brought the Auto Value Thunderstox to the green flag, but it was Bill Schott who came from inside row two to take the lead. Schott lead the entire race. Your current point leader, Andy Moore came from the back row and took home second place. The top five was rounded out by Charles Vian Jr., Kaleb Hardy and Jordan Myers.

The Auto Value Street Stock saw a lot of bobbing, weaving, bumping and banging. Parts were all over the track, but in the end Dan Osthoff brought home his 3rd feature win in a row.

A wild and crazy figure 8 race was held on the front stretch tonight and the winner of that was Tyler Mickschl.
The next event on the LaCrosse Speedway schedule is Saturday, August 22nd, it is our weekly racing finale with Twin 20 lap Late Model feature races.

. For more information please call the Speedway office at (608) 786-1525 or visit

LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway is a proud NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series –

Click here for the full results

Scroll to top