By: Stephanie Johnson
(West Salem, WI – August 1, 2015) A gorgeous night to bring the family to the races and you saw a lot of destruction happen with The Trailer Race of Destruction. There was carnage all the way around the ¼ mile track.
Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Model driver Steve Carlson had a clean sweep on the night. He qualified fastest with a 20.052 second lap, won his heat race and brought home his 7th feature win of the season.

Jerimy Wagner and Cole Howland brought the 14 car field to the green where Howland led the 1st lap. Steve Carlson, coming from the 5th starting spot, quickly found himself challenging for the lead. He tried he high side with no avail. On lap 10 Carlson ducks to the inside of Howland on the backstretch to take the lead.

Adam Degenhardt made a hard charge and was on the back bumper of Howland, but couldn’t get around him. Carlson, who had a good lead over 2nd place took the checkered flag for his 7th feature of the year. To round out the top 5 we had Howland, Degenhardt, BP Brad Powell and Mike Koeneke.

Dean’s Satellite and Security Sportsmen had Jeff Thompson and Jake Bemis on the pole when the green flagged dropped. Bemis fell to mid pack which was a great opportunity for Justin Mullikin to challenge Thompson for the lead.

On lap 2, the cautions was brought out for a wreck in turns 3&4. Involved in this wreck were Bill Martin, Tony Leis and Johns Radtke. Radtke sustained the most damage and he and Martin wernt able to finish the race. Leis came back on the track and worked his way up to a 4th place finish.

On the restart, Thompson and Mullikin take the poll after the orange cone chess match, but Thompson was soon spun on the back stretch and brought out the 2nd caution of the race. Mullikin and Brian Hesselberg take the front row for the 2nd restart and Brian Hesselberg takes the lead.

Soon after, Nick Clements battles Hesselberg for the lead. With 9 laps to go, Clements takes the lead and will retain it all the way to the checkers. With this win, Clements now has 7 feature wins on the season.

Melissa Rusch and Ron White brought the Auto Value Thunderstox to the green flag. Rusch and White battled for a couple laps, but Andy Moore took the lead on lap 3. He had a ¼ track lead when the caution came out. On the restart, Moore took off and never looked back taking home his 5th feature win of the year.

The Auto Value Street Stocks saw a lot of bumping and grinding during their feature race. One caution was brought out for John Eron and Bob Fort Sr melee. Dan Osthoff got his 2nd consecutive feature win of the season.

The next event on the LaCrosse Speedway schedule is racing action from all division including the ANTS Complete Pest Control Hornets and Spectacular drags!

For more information please call the Speedway office at (608) 786-1525 or visit
LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway is a proud NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series –

Click here for the full results.

Scroll to top