January 13, 2015 (West Salem, WI) – The 2014 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series season has been in the record books for a few months already, and participants officially said goodbye to 2014 last Saturday Night.

Racers from all six divisions plus the Great Northern Sportsman Series converged at the 28th annual Champions’ Banquet at Onalaska’s Stoney Creek Inn Conference Center.

It was a busy night for the Speedway staff, as co-host Dan Deicher took part in distributing over 100 awards throughout the evening, including the prestigious “Sportsman of the Year” award.

Five Star Race Car Bodies sponsored a $500 gift certificate giveaway to one lucky Late Model Driver at the conclusion of Budweiser Social Hour. Winner of the contest and the Five Star certificate was Branden Berg.

Speedway pastor Andrew Buhrow gave the invocation to the guests. That was followed by the 2014 season review video by KQEG TV-23 during dinner.

The top ten drivers in Late Model, Sportsmen, and Thunderstox were honored during the event, as well as top five Hornet, Street Stocks, Outlawz and the touring Great Northern Sportsmen Series. Rookies of the year were crowned, in addition to champions in the Budweiser Dash.

Fans and drivers were able to vote by ballot online this year for several of the awards, including Best Appearing Car and Tough Man Awards. “Being recognized by the fans is important and exciting for the drivers, and it is fun to have them involved in the process,” commented announcer Deicher. “Several of the awards are exclusively voted on by the race teams however, as they have a more intimate perspective on the teams in the pits and the hard work involved. To be recognized with an award that your peers vote on is very rewarding,” concluded Deicher.

The night included honoring a second consecutive Late Model track championship by veteran racer Steve Carlson. Carlson also won the Wisconsin State Championship in NASCAR’s point system, beating out drivers competing at other NASCAR Wisconsin Sanctioned Tracks.
Pastor Buhrow presented his annual “Racing Family of the Year” award. It was presented to the Niles Racing Teams, including Father Mike and Son Bill, and Sportsmen driver Greg Scheck.

The event drew to a close with the annual Sportsman of the Year Award. This prestigious award recognized United Auto Supply for their support of the Thunderstox division of over 20 years.

The 2015 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series season kicks off on Sunday afternoon, April 26th with the running of the Budweiser “Frostbuster” race. Expect an announcement on the complete 2015 season schedule in coming weeks.

For more information about the LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway or the 2015 season, please call the speedway office at 608-786-1525, email, or visit

Be sure to follow on social media – @laxspeedway on Twitter or LaCrosse Speedway on Facebook.

2014 LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway Award Recipients:
Champions: Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Models: Steve Carlson, Coca-Cola Sportsmen: Greg Scheck, United Auto Supply Thunderstox: Jason Bolster, ANTS Complete Pest Control Hornets: Mark Bornitz , United Auto Supply Street Stocks: John Eron, Coke Zero Outlawz: Cole Scholze, Zimmerman Driving School Figure-8: Jason Bolster, Budweiser Dash: Steve Carlson (Late Model), Greg Scheck (Sportsmen), Jason Bolster (Thunderstox); Novelty Events: Jason Bolster;

Rookie of the Year: Thunderstox – Ron White, Sportsmen – Brad Warthan, Late Model – Jack Litsheim;

Best Appearing Car Award (Fans Vote): Outlawz – Wayne Smith, Street Stocks – Taylor Dobbs, Hornet – Garrett Thicke, Thunderstox – Jason Schaller, Sportsmen – Justin Mullikin, Late Model – Branden Berg;

Best Appearing Car Award (Race Teams Vote): Outlawz – Cole Scholze, Street Stocks – Jason Bolster, Hornet – Nate Towner, Thunderstox -Kayla Lockington, Sportsmen – Jeff Thompson, Late Model – Harley Jankowski;

Tough Man Award: Street Stocks – John Eron, Hornets – Nate Towner, Thunderstox-Jason Bolster, Sportsmen-Greg Scheck, Late Model – Brad Powell;

Lucky Dog Award: – Cole Scholze;

Outstanding Performance Award: Jason Bolster, Brad Warthan

Extra Lap Award: Steve Owen Racing, Eckelberg Racing Teams;

Showmanship Award: Bill Niles, Matthew Henderson;

Competition Achievement awards: Melissa Rusch, Jacinda Pfaff, Kevin Owen, Kevin Turner

Racing Family of the Year by Pastor Andy: Niles Racing;

Social Media: Eckelberg Racing

Most Improved Driver: Hornets – John Piotrowski, Thunderstox – Kayla Lockington, Sportsmen – Justin Mullikin, Late Model – Jerimy Wagner;

Best Appearing Race Team: FMW Racing – Branden Berg & Jerimy Wagner, Eckelberg Racing, Jeff Thompson Racing;

Special Recognition Award: Matthew Henderson, Dan Deicher

Hard Charger Award: Street Stocks – John Nerud, Hornets – Patrick Thicke, Thunderstox – Jordan Myers, Sportsmen – Tom Luethe, Late Model – Branden Berg;

Good Luck Award: Street Stocks – Taylor Dobbs, Hornets – Sammy Linnehan, Thunderstox – Ron White, Sportsmen – Tom Luethe, Late Model – Mike Koeneke;

Sharing Award: Lance Berger;

Most Popular Driver Award (Fan Balloting): Outlawz – Wayne Smith, Street Stocks – John Eron, Hornet – Sammy Linnehan, Thunderstox – Kayla Lockington, Sportsmen – Jeff Thompson, Late Model – Bill Niles;

2014 Sportsman of the Year: United Auto Supply

Scroll to top