By: Ashley Iwanski
(West Salem, WI – October 5, 2014) The 45th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend is in the books at La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway. More trophies were handed out and champions were crowned on the fourth and final day of the event.

Travis Sauter used patience to win the 2014 ARCA Midwest Tour Oktoberfest 200, his fourth Oktoberfest championship – he won in 2009, 2011 and 2012.

The feature event, which allowed one competition caution on lap 110 that lasted six minutes, was a true endurance test.

Sauter took the lead from his father Tim Sauter on lap 120. Before that Travis was hanging back in the Top 5, first in third then in second before heading in to pit.

Once Travis had the lead he wasn’t going to relinquish it.

A caution came out with 34 laps to go with Travis Sauter in the lead. Right before the yellow flag flew Dan Fredrickson had worked his way into the second position and had his eyes set on the lead.

When Natalie Decker spun on lap 166 Fredrickson was able to make up ground and restarted side-by-side with Travis Sauter.

Fredrickson was slightly trailing Travis Sauter until lap 188. Fredrickson surged forward to the back bumper of Sauter to challenge him for the top spot.

But Travis Sauter never let Fredrickson get a run on him.

Fredrickson finished second and Griffin McGrath third.

Twenty-year-old Ty Majeski was crowned the 2014 ARCA Midwest Tour champion after finishing ninth in the feature.

Michael Beamish scored a Big-8 win in the Oktoberfest JMcK 63-lap Invitational. Beamish finished with eight points after finishing first, fourth and fifth, respectively, in the three 21-lap segment races.

Zach Riddle won a three-way tie for second place. Riddle, along with Cole Anderson and Wayne Freimund, had 11 points after the third segment. The tie was broken by finishing positions in the final segment, which Riddle won and Anderson finished second.

Anderson, Freimund and J. Herbst rounded out the top five overall.

John Gilbertson won the 15-lap Oktoberfest Vinatage Car feature in a 1976 Javelin AMX. He beat Rex Rossier’s 1976 Chevy Camero to the finish line.

Saturday, October 11 is your last opportunity in 2014 to get in on the action of Premier Powdercoating Street Drags. Featured events in the 300’ Bracket Nationals include Bracket Racing, Burnout Contest, Shine N’ Show Contest and Pre-Event Grudge Matches. For more information please call the Speedway office at (608) 786-1525 or visit

LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway is a proud NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series –

ARCA Midwest Tour
Coca-Cola 200 Oktoberfest Feature (29 Cars) — 1, Travis Sauter, Prairie du Sac; 2, Dan Fredrickson, Lakeville, Minn.; 3, Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; 4, Jacob Goede, Carver, Minn.; 5, Andrew Morrisey, DeForest; 6, Tim Sauter, Necedah; 7, Jim Sauter Jr., Tomah; 8, Nathan Haseleu, Marshall; 9, Ty Majeski, Seymour; 10, Chris Wimmer, Wausau; 11, Jason Weinkauf, Merrill; 12, Jonathan Eilen, Hampton, Minn.; 13, Nick Panitzke, Lakeville, Minn.; 14, Nick Barstad, Prior Lake, Minn.; 15, Mark Kraus, unknown; 16, Natalie Decker, Eagle River; 17, James Swan, Genoa City; 18, Ryan Ferrell, East Troy; 19, Skylar Holzhausen, Bangor; 20, Travis Volm, Mosinee; 21, Derek Lemke, unknown; 22, Jeremy Lepak, Edgar; 23, Joel Theisen, Maple Grove, Minn.; 24, Dean LaPointe, Marshfield; 25, Chris Weinkauf, Merrill; 26, Matt Kocourek, Franklin; 27, Justin Oertel, unknown; 28, Collin Reffner, Wisconsin Rapids; 29, Tim Schendel, Sparta.
Last Chance — 1, Jason Weinkauf; 2, Chris Weinkauf; 3, Nick Barstad; 4, James Swan; 5, Collin Reffner.

JMcK Big-8 Invitational
Coca-Cola 63 Feature (15 Cars) — 1, Michael Beamish, Eagen, Minn.; 2, Zach Riddle, Brooklyn; 3, Cole Anderson, Northfield, Minn.; 4, Wayne Freimund, Elkmound, Minn.; 5, J. Herbst, La Crosse; 6, Jon Lemke, Shakopee; 7, Ryan Kamish, Farmington, Minn.; 8, Jason Schuler, Cambridge; 9, Michael Ostdiek, Lakeville, Minn.; 10, Mike Ehde, Prairie du Chien; 11, Harley Jankowski, Sparta; 12, Gary Krueger, New Lisbon; 13, Jacob Vanoskey, Hartford; 14, Kyle Smith, Lake Mills; 15, Dave Edwards, Salem.

Vintage Cars
Coca-Cola 20 Feature (14 cars) — 1, John Gilbertson, Onalaska; 2, Rex Rossier, Plover; 3, Ken Hutchens, Black River Falls; 4, Royce Rossier, Plover; 5, Tom Schuettle, Fort Atkinson; 6, Scott Moldenhauer, Black River Falls; 7, Jerry Aylsworth, La Crosse; 8, Paul Gilbertson, La Crescent, Minn.; 9, Bob Heine, New Prague, Minn.; 10, Tim Everson, Janesville; 11, Paul Dolphy, Mounds View, Minn.; 12, Pat Heaney, Greenfield; 13, Bob Lee, Holmen; 14, Mike Irvine, Madison.
Heat 1 — 1, Tom Schuette; 2, Paul Gilbertson; 3, Jerry Aylsworth; 4, Scott Moldernhauer; 5, Paul Dolphy.
Heat 2 — 1, Rex Rossier; 2, Royce Rossier; 3, John Gilbertson; 4, Pat Heaney; 5, Bob Heine.

Scroll to top