Sunday, January 26, 2009 (West Salem, WI) – The 2008 NASCAR Whelen All-American Season officially concluded for LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway Friday night at the annual Awards Ceremony. Over 100 awards were presented at the sold-out event. Located at the Stoney Creek Inn Conference Center in Onalaska, the annual event recognizes the achievements of the drivers, race teams, and persons involved with racing at LaCrosse Speedway, and crown the 2008 divisional champions.

Highlighting the banquet was the crowning of the track champions, including the Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Model Champ Steve Carlson, North Country Contractors Sportsmen Champion Larry Bolster Jr., United Auto Supply Thunderstox Champion Jamie Dummer, Hornet and Skidder Champion Mark Bornitz, and Mike Peters as the Tuners champ. On hand to congratulate all winners was Lauren Westcoat, a representative for NASCAR, and Ray Loughan, the Speedway’s Director of Competition.

The evening began by recognizing the tenth through fourth in the Thunderstox, Sportsmen and Late Models. A 2008 review video produced by KQEG TV-23 entertained the attendees, while they were served dinner by C&C Catering of Sparta. “It is great opportunity to see everyone during the winter, and celebrate a common interest…. Local racing on the asphalt short tracks,” commented Race Director Jeff Garbers. It’s a fun night were everyone doesn’t have to worry about shocks, air pressure, springs (or Black Flags)” concluded Garbers.

The evening’s festivities concluded with the annual Sportsman of the Year Award. The Sportsman of the Year award recognizes an individual that is dedicated to the sport of short track racing, and is a positive role model in the community, as well as at the LaCrosse Speedway. That award was presented to DCA Racing’s Dan Navrestad, a long-time contributor of services to race teams at LaCrosse Speedway.

The 2009 Racing Season will come to life on Saturday, April 25th, featuring the Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Models, North Country Contractors Sportsmen, United Auto Supply Thunderstox and a 2nd over the line wins Novelty Race. Other notable dates include the Smash-O-Rama on Friday July 3rd, the September 12th Eve of Destruction, and the 40th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend, October 8-11. For more information about the LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway, please call 608-786-1525, email, or visit

2008 LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway Award Recipients:

Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Model Champion: Steve Carlson, North Country Contractors Sportsmen Champion: Larry Bolster Jr., United Auto Supply Thunderstox Champion: Jamie Dummer, Features Sports Bar & Grill Hornet and Skidders Champion: Mark Bornitz, Tuner Champion: Mike Peters, Budweiser Dash Champions: J. Herbst (Late Model), Rob Mason (Sportsmen), Brad Warthan (Thunderstox); Novelty Event Champion: Adam Moore, Sportsman of the Year: Dan Navrestad;

Also Recognized: Top Ten Drivers in Late Model, Sportsmen, and Thunderstox Point Standings, Top Five Drivers in Hornet, Skidders and Tuners Point Standings;

Rookies of the Year: Thunderstox – Scott Geier, Sportsmen – Rick Johnson, Late Model – Jared Soller;

Best Appearing Car Award (Fan Vote): Hornet – Nate Towner, Thunderstox – Jason Stark, Sportsmen – Jason Dummer, Late Model – Emily Sue Steck;

Best Appearing Car Award (Race Teams Vote): Hornet – Ron Amann, Thunderstox – Charles Vian Jr., Sportsmen – Jake Arneson, Late Model – Matt Henderson;

Tough Man Award: Thunderstox – Adam Moore, Sportsmen – Larry Bolster Jr., Late Model – Todd Korish;

Runner-Up Award: Jason Bolster – Thunderstox, Randy Humfeld – Sportsmen, Late Model – Mike Carlson;

NASCAR Craftsman Mechanic of the Year – John Henderson;

Outstanding Performance Award: Thunderstox – Jason Stark, Sportsmen – Nick Clements, Late Model – Todd Oliver;

Extra Lap Award: Thunderstox – Jamie Dummer, Sportsmen – Jerrod Loging, Late Model – Bill Niles;

Showmanship Award: Thunderstox – Harley Jankowski, Sportsmen – Rob Mason, Late Model – Emily Sue Steck;

Outback Steakhouse Halfway Champion – Steve Carlson;

Jeff Jepson Crew Chief of the Year: Chris Johnson;

Competition Achievement awards: Scott Geier, Jeff Baker, Matt Henderson, Jerimy Wagner, Greg Scheck, Kevin Nuttleman, The Inglett Family;

Not Whether you win or lose Award: Thunderstox – Ray Burkum, Sportsmen – Mark Challet, Late Model – Jared Soller;

Most Improved Driver: Thunderstox – Danielle Neary, Sportsmen – Nick Clements, Late Model – Mike Carlson;

Best Appearing Race Team: Thunderstox – Jamie Dummer, Sportsmen – Randy Humfeld, Late Model – DMT Motorsports;

Special Recognition Award: Mike Thill, Gary Gonczy, Brad Warthan; Good Luck Award: Thunderstox – Jason Schaller, Sportsmen – Justin Berg, Late Model – Albert Locy;

Most Popular Driver Award (Voted by the Fans): Hornet – Nate Towner, Thunderstox – Danielle Neary, Sportsmen – Jerrod Loging, Late Model – J. Herbst;

Sharing Award: Thunderstox – Danielle Neary, Sportsmen – Gilster Racing, Late Model – Eckelberg Racing •

Scroll to top