By:  Paul Reichert July 2, 2020

Another stellar crowd came out to the La Crosse Speedway for some action packed holiday racing during the annual Star Spangled Spectacular.  Steve Bachman scored an impressive first win in the opening feature, while national champion Jacob Goede drove away from the field late to capture the second feature. 

Steve Bachman
Steve Bachman

Grant Brown led early the first Whelen 20 lap Late Model Feature, but yellow flew on lap two.  Justin Mullikin (Holmen, WI) spun out and John Heath slammed the wall hard in turn two.  Steve Bachman (Bangor, WI) powered by Brown shortly after the restart to take control of the race on lap four.  The front runners struggled to make their way through traffic, allowing Bachman to open up his advantage.  Jacob Goede (Carver, MN) drove around Brent Kirchner (La Crosse, WI) for second just before halfway.  Three laps later, Nick Murgic used the outside groove to power past Kirchner for third.  Goede could not close up on Bachman, and got into a tussle for second with Murgic.  Bachman received a thunderous ovation from the crowd as he scored his first ever Late Model win.  After the race, Bachman said “I have to thank my crew for helping make the car better, and my family for supporting my efforts.”

Jacob Goede Victory Lane
Jacob Goede

In the second Whelen 20 Lap Late Model feature, Dean Cornelius shot to the front right off of the start.  Goede was on a mission to win this feature after starting ninth.  Goede again moved up to second by the halfway mark, and set his sights on Cornelius.  Four laps later, Goede caught and powered by Cornelius to take over the race lead.  The caution came out with three laps to to go as Carter Christenson (La Crosse, WI) spun in turn four.  That set up a double wide restart.  Goede wasted little time surging by Cornelius again, while Nick Murgic started to look for an opening to get by Cornelius.  Goede took the checkered flag first to win the late feature.  After the race, Goede said “It is sometimes a struggle to find the right balance between the twin feature race.  We found that balance tonight.”

Brian Hesselberg Victory Lane

In the Sportsmen feature, Dave Edwards (Salem, WI) had a new challenger for the win as Brian Hesselberg (Bangor, WI) made his season debut.  Hesselberg and Edwards fought hard for the top spot down the stretch, but Hesselberg surged ahead of Edwards by half a car length to score the win and a clean sweep.

Brandon Gallagher inherited the lead in the Hobby Stock feature after leaders Jason Bolster and Kaleb Hardy made contact four laps in.  Gallagher fought off the challenges of Mark Challet to capture the checkered flag first.
The Street Stock feature witnessed an exciting final four laps as a three wide battled ensued between Rob Stanfield, race long leader Al Bartels and Matt Moore.  Moore powered his way past his fellow competitors to claim his second straight win.

Mitchell Berg was clearly the car to beat in the High School Racing Association feature.  Berg worked the car too hard in the second half of the race, allowing Ashton Kinsey to swoosh by and drive off with the victory.
Rob Stanfield was not able to stop quick enough before crossing the line in the 2nd Over the Line Wins Novelty race, allowing Chris Larson to claim the win.

Action continues next Saturday, July 11 with the Quarter Mile Mania event.  Nothing but racing taking place on the action track quarter-mile.  All the regular divisions will be in action, including the Hornets, Street Stocks and the Mini-Vans.  Contact Drags and the Demolition Derby will also be a part of the show.  Gates open at 6:00, qualifying starts at 6:15 and the quarter-mile fun begins at 7:30.

For more information about LaCrosse Speedway or the 2020 schedule of events, please call the office at 608-786-1525 or visit our web site at  LaCrosse Speedway is proud to be a NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series.


Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Models

Feature #1:  1. Steve Bachman, 2. Nick Murgic, 3. Jacob Goede, 4. Brent Kirchner, 5. Jeff Partington

Feature #2:  1. Goede, 2. Murgic, 3. Dean Cornelius, 4. Billy Mohn, 5. Bachman6-For-6 Dash:  1. Steve Carlson, 2. Murgic, 3. Kirchner

Heat #1:  1. Justin Mullikin, 2. Mike Carlson, 3. BachmanHeat #2:  1. Chad Walen, 2. Carter Christenson, 3. Michael Haggar

Heat #3:  1. Ryan Kamish, 2. Don Turner, 3. Ryan Varner

Qualifying:  1. Goede, 2. Kirchner, 3. Nick Clements

Lawnkeepers Sportsmen

Feature:  1. Brian Hesselberg, 2. Dave Edwards, 3. Mark Challet, 4. Bill Schott, 5. Jesse Green

Heat #1:  1. Hesselberg, 2. Sam Niles, 3. Bill Schott

Qualifying:  1.  Hesselberg, 2. Niles, 3. Jesse Green

Auto Value Hobby Stocks

Feature:  1. Brandon Gallagher, 2. Mark Challet, 3. Kaleb Hardy, 4. Alex Rud, 5. Austin Schott

Heat #1:  1. Gallagher, 2. Jason Bolster, 3. Hardy

Qualifying:  1. Hardy, 2. Gallagher, 3. Bolster

Auto Value Street Stocks

Feature:  1. Matt Moore, 2. Rob Stanfield, 3. Zach Liebsch, 4. John Huebner, 5. Dan Frye

Heat #1:  1. Dustin McCracken, 2. M. Moore, 3. Frye

Heat #2:  1. Liebsch, 2. Brian Larson, 3. Jonathan Burbach

Heat #3:  1. Bartels, 2. John Clauson, 3. Spencer Nevinger

Qualifying:  1. Adam Kerley, 2. Chris Larson, 3. M. Moore

High School Racing Association

Feature:  1. Ashton Kinsey, 2. Braydon Lockington, 3. Kelsey Clements

Heat #1:  1. Mitchell Berg, 2. Dawsynn Richmond, 3. Kinsey

Qualifying:  1. Kinsey, 2. Richmond, 3. Berg


2nd Over the Line Wins:  1. Chris Larson, 2. Adam Kerley

Scroll to top