By:  Paul Reichert

June 13, 2020
A picture perfect night brought out another huge crowd to the LaCrosse Speedway for more exciting and thrilling racing action.   After finishing third two weeks ago and second last week, Nick Murgic captured his first feature win of the year to show us he can compete with Steve Carlson.

Nick Murgic Victory Lane

Justin Mullikin (Holmen, WI) shot himself into the lead quickly at the start of the Kwik Trip 25 for the NASCAR Late Models.  Mullikin was just as quickly overtaken by Brent Kirchner (LaCrosse, WI) a lap later.  Nick Murgic (Rosemount, MN) made his way from tenth starting spot up to third by lap seven.  Murgic shot past Steve Bachman (Bangor, WI) for second on lap nine, and began to close down on Kirchner.  After trying to go under Kirchner for the lead, Murgic moved to the high side.  Murgic found his groove and powered past Kirchner for the lead on lap 12.  As Murgic began to open up his advantage, Bachman would close up again on Kirchner.  A few laps later they would be joined by Steve Carlson (West Salem, WI) and Jacob Goede.  While those four fought hard over the rest of the top five spots, Murgic maintained his lead and saw the checkered flag first.    After the race, Murgic said “I have to respect Kirchner for racing me hard and giving me the outside lane to get around him.”   

Jaydin Schock Victory Lane
Jaydin Schock

Dave Edwards (Salem, WI) took command of the Sportsmen feature five laps into the race.  Edwards was able to hold off both Jack Litsheim (LaCrosse, WI) and Sam Niles (Holmen, WI) over the final seven laps to claim his second straight win.

Driving his son Austin’s car, Jason Stark took the lead halfway through the Hobby Stock feature.  Stark fought off the field in a final three lap shootout to score the victory.  Marc Luethe took the lead four laps into the Hornet feature, and pulled away from the field to drive away with the win.  Matt Moore powered his way under Chris Larson with five laps to go in the Street Stock feature, then held back his furious rally to win the race.
The High School Racing Association put on an entertaining feature in their debut.   Jaydin Schock made West Salem proud as she held off Dawsynn Richmond in the final laps to capture the checkered flag first.

Hornets Wreck

Action continues next Saturday, June 20 with the first round of twin 20 lap features for the Late Models.  The Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks, Hornets and the Mini-Vans will also be in action.  Make sure you get out to the track early for the annual Fan Photo Night to collect your hero cards and free treats.  Gates open at 6:00, Fan Photo Night kicks off at 6:15 and the first racing green flag flies at 7:30.  For more information about the La Crosse Speedway or the 2020 schedule of events, please call the office at 608-786-1525 or visit us on the web at  La Crosse Speedway is proud to be a NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series.

Tobacco Outlet Plus Grocery NASCAR Late ModelsFeature:  1.  Nick Murgic, 2. Brent Kirchner, 3. Steve Carlson, 4. Jacob Goede, 5. Steve Bachman6-for-6 Dash:  1. Murgic, 2. Nick Clements, 3. GoedeHeat 1:  1. Bachman, 2. S. Carlson, 3. Steve SchultzHeat 2:  1. Mike Carlson, 2. Adam Oxborough, 3. Grant Brown Heat 3:  1. Michael Haggar, 2. Don Turner, 3. Carter ChristensonQualifying:  1. Goede, 2. Clements, 3. Billy Mohn
Lawnkeepers SportsmenFeature:  1. Dave Edwards, 2. Jack Litshiem, 3. Rick Coppernoll, 4. Mark Challet, 5. Jesse GreenHeat:  1. Edwards, 2. Litshiem, 3. CoppernollQualifying:  1. Challet, 2. Edwards, 3. Coppernoll
Auto Value Hobby StocksFeature:  1. Jason Stark, 2. Joe Prusak, 3. Brandon Gallagher, 4. Austin Schott, 5. Kaleb HardyHeat 1:  1. J. Stark, 2. Prusak, 3. HardyQualifying:  1.  Hardy, 2. J. Stark, 3. Brandon Gallagher
ANT’s Complete Pest Control HornetsFeature:  1. Marc Luethe, 2. Patrick Thicke, 3. Dakota Clauson, 4. John Huebner, 5. Joey Johnson, Jr.Heat 1:  1. Jacob Iverson, 2. Huebner, 3. Rob Stanfield
Heat 2:  1. Luethe, 2. Clauson, 3. Johnson, Jr.Heat 3:  1. Jimmy Bjorkman, 2. Jaydin Schock, 3. Michael Wachs, Jr.Qualifying:  1. Thicke, 2. Cheyanne Stanfield, 3. Wachs, Jr.
Auto Value Street StocksFeature:  1. Matt Moore, 2. Chris Larson, 3. John Clauson, 4. Alex Liebsch, 5. Zack LiebschHeat 1:  1. Clauson, 2. A. Liebsch, 3. Al Bartels
Heat 2:  1. C. Larson, 2. Rob Stanfield, 3. Z. LiebschHeat 3:  1. Steven Brasda, 2. M. Moore, 3. McCrackenQualifying:  1. M. Moore, 2. Dan Frye, 3. Keith Larson
High School Racing AssociationFeature:  1.  Jaydin Schock, 2. Dawsynn Richmond, 3. Ashton Kinsey, 4. Kelsey Clements, 5. Matt SatkaHeat:  1. Satka, 2. Schock, 3. Richmond, 4. Clements, 5. Kinsey

Scroll to top