Wednesday nights ruled the racing scene in western Wisconsin back in the 1970s and 1980s when the Central Wisconsin Racing Association Late Models were the big show at LaCrosse.  The names of Trickle, Reffner, Back, Marzofka, Detjens and Sauter made some great racing memories back in the heyday of short track racing.  To help kick off the 131st edition of the LaCrosse Interstate Fair, the CWRA returned to one of its marquee tracks for the 2nd Annual Tribute to Larry Wehrs.  Corey Jankowski, a threat to win at LaCrosse for many years, dominated the first feature event.  CWRA point leader Mark Eswein got by Brent Kirchner at the halfway mark of the second feature race to capture his first victory at LaCrosse.
Four-time CWRA champion Jeff Weinfurter (Wisconsin Rapids, WI) powered by Derrick Van Dreel (Wisconsin Rapids, WI) to lead at the start of the first 25 lap CWRA Late Model feature.  Paul Paine (Mound, MN) spun out while battling Corey Jankowski (Tomah, WI) for second to bring out the yellow on lap four.  Jankowski lined up alongside of Weinfurter on the restart and wasted little time to take command of the race.  Weinfurter was fighting off a hoard of challengers over the runner-up spot when Rob Christen (Holmen, WI) spun out on the back straight on lap ten to bring out another yellow flag.  Darek Gress (Neillsville, WI) ran a bit wide in turn four allowing Jankowski to hold onto the top spot on the restart.  Fast qualifier Mark Eswein (Wisconsin Rapids, WI) quickly drove by Tyler Sauter (Necedah, WI) to settle into third on lap 14.  Eswein powered by Gress for second with four laps remaining but had too much distance to make up.  Jankowski was out for a Sunday drive on a Wednesday night as he claimed his first feature win at LaCrosse in quite some time.  After the race Jankowski said “The car ran great.  It felt like I was running back in my old Sportsmen days here at LaCrosse.”

The start of the 25 lap CWRA Late Model feature #2 had a side-by-side battle between Jeff Weinfurter and Jesse Bernhagen (Willard, WI).  As Weinfurter took the top spot from Bernhagen on lap three, Late Model point leader Brent Kirchner (LaCrosse, WI) began to make fast work of the leaders.  Kirchner dove to the inside of Weinfurter to take over the race lead on lap five.  Another driver making fast work of the field was fast qualifier Mark Eswein.  Eswein quickly powered around Weinfurter for the runner-up spot on lap eight.  The lone yellow of the race slowed the action on lap 13 when Rob Christen spun on the back straight.  Eswein lined up next to Kirchner on the restart and would surge past Kirchner to take over the race lead on lap 14.  Kirchner would not let Eswein get away that easily as Kirchner stayed within four car lengths of the leader.  Eswein and Kirchner pulled away from the field, but Eswein maintained the top spot as Eswein claimed his first feature win at LaCrosse.  After the race Eswein said “That yellow really helped us out to catch Kirchner and win the second feature.”  Eswein also picked up a $500 bonus from Wehrs Machine for scoring the best overall finish in the twin CWRA Late Model features.

Ryan Stanfield looked like he was on his way to his first career win in the Street Stock feature.  After setting a new track record in qualifying, Chris Larson powered his way on the outside of Stanfield with five laps to go to cap off a terrific night with his first Street Stock feature win.
Brandon Olson was leading the Wisconsin Fastrac Legends feature when he spun out in turn two on lap ten.  Jake Tretow would be the beneficiary of that bobble as he took command of the race on the restart.  Tretow had to fend off the challenges of fast qualifier Colin Stocker to capture the first Legends checkered flag in at least 15 years.   
Action continues on Saturday, July 23 with another night of twin 20 lap features for the Late Models, along with the Sportsmen, Hornets and Mini-Vans.  The Upper Midwest Vintage Racing Series will also be on hand and take us on a journey back to the heyday of Wisconsin short track racing.  Bring the kids out early so they can experience taking a ride in a race car during the Pre-Race Kids’ Rides following qualifying.  Gates open at 5:30, qualifying kicks off at 5:45 and racing takes the green at 7.
For more information about LaCrosse Speedway or the 2022 schedule of events, please call the track office at 608-786-1525 or visit our web site at lacrossespeedway.com.  LaCrosse Speedway is proud to be a NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series.


CWRA Late Models

Feature #1 (25 laps):  1. Corey Jankowski, 2. Mark Eswein, 3. Darek Gress, 4. Tyler Sauter, 5. Brent Kirchner, 6. Jeff Weinfurter, 7. Jesse Bernhagen, 8. Nick Clements, 9. Paul Paine, 10. Monte Gress, 11. Derrick Van Dreel, 12. Mike Sievers, 13. Collin Tomlinson, 14. Rob Christen
Feature #2 (25 laps):  1. Mark Eswein, 2. Brent Kirchner, 3. Paul Paine, 4. Jeff Weinfurter, 5. Tyler Sauter, 6. Darek Gress, 7. Corey Jankowski, 8. Nick Clements, 9. Jesse Bernhagen, 10. Monte Gress, 11. Mike Sievers, 12. Collin Tomlinson, 13. Rob Christen, 14. Derrick Van Dreel
Qualifying:  1. Mark Eswein, 2. Nick Clements, 3. Jesse Bernhagen, 4. Tyler Sauter, 5. Corey Jankowski, 6. Darek Gress, 7. Paul Paine, 8. Derrick Van Dreel, 9. Jeff Weinfurter, 10. Monte Gress, 11. Brent Kirchner, 12. MIke Sievers, 13. Collin Tomlinson, 14. Rob Christen

Auto Value Street Stocks

Feature (15 laps):  1. Chris Larson, 2. Matt Moore, 3. Al Bartels, 4. Ryan Stanfield, 5. Alex Liebsch, 6. Zach Liebsch, 7. Peter Thompson, 8. John Huebner, 9. Matthew Bornheimer, 10. Jake Schomers, 11. Steven Brasda, 12. Keith Larson, 13. Brian Larson, 14. Gregory Fair
Heat #1 (8 laps):  1. Al Bartels, 2. Alex Liebsch, 3. Ryan Stanfield, 4. Brian Larson, 5. Matthew Bornheimer, 6. Keith Larson, 7. Gregory Fair
Heat #2 (8 laps):  1.  Peter Thompson, 2. John Huebner, 3. Chris Larson, 4. Steven Brasda, 5. Jake Schomers, 6. Matt Moore, 7. Zach Liebsch 
Qualifying:  1. Chris Larson (New Track Record–15.897), 2. Jake Schomers, 3. Matt Moore, 4. Steven Brasda, 5. John Huebner, 6. Zach Liebsch, 7. Peter Thompson, 8. Keith Larson, 9. Alex Liebsch, 10. Matthew Bornheimer, 11. Brian Larson, 12. Al Bartels, 13. Ryan Stanfield, 14. Gregory Fair

Wisconsin Fastrac Legends

Feature (20 laps):  1. Jake Tretow, 2. Jacob Tiegan, 3. Colin Stocker, 4. Tim Stockhouse, 5. Ayrton Brockhouse, 6. Tyler Ledbetter, 7. Andrew Borntrager, 8. Elliott Weiler, 9. Jason Harnisch, 10. Russ Weiler, 11. Adam Hansen, 12. Brandon Olson, 13. Rose Brontrager, 14. Johnny Kemp, 15. Ayden Brockhouse
Heat #1 (8 laps):  1. Jake Tretow, 2. Colin Stocker, 3. Jacob Tiegan, 4. Elliott Weiler, 5. Russ Weiler, 6. Tyler Ledbetter, 7. Ayrton Brockhouse, 8. Tim Brockhouse
Heat #2 (8 laps):  1. Andrew Borntrager, 2. Brandon Olson, 3. Rose Borntrager, 4. Jason Harnisch, 5. Johnny Kemp, 6. Ayden Brockhouse, 7. Adam Hansen, 8. Fred Hefti
Qualifying:  1. Colin Stocker (New Track Record–14.347), 2. Jake Tretow, 3. Elliott Weiler, 4. Jacob Tiegan, 5. Ayrton Brockhouse, 6. Tim Brockhouse, 7. Russ Weiler, 8. Tyler Ledbetter, 9. Johnny Kemp, 10. Jason Harnisch, 11. Andrew Borntrager, 12. Adam Hansen, 13. Rose Borntrager, 14. Brandon Olson, 15. Ayden Brockhouse
Scroll to top