By: Kevin Ramsell & Stephanie Johnson
(West Salem, WI – October 11, 2015) For the fourth time in his career, Dan Fredrickson etched his name into the record books after winning the ARCA Midwest Tour’s Oktoberfest 200 on the final day of the 46th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend at La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway in West Salem, Wisconsin.

Fredrickson took the lead from Ty Majeski on a restart with 10 laps to go in the ARCA Midwest Tour’s season finale. Majeski said after the race that a vapor lock caused his car to lose power for a second coming to the green allowing Fredrickson to make the winning pass.

Jacob Goede was also able to get by Majeski for second with Majeski taking the final podium spot and clinching his second straight ARCA Midwest Tour championship.

Nick Murgic and Skylar Holzhausen rounded out the top five.

Johnny Sauter, who came into the event taking the $5,000 “Ultimate Challenge,” started 28th and reached as high as second before retiring from the event with nine laps to go.

Austin Nason was announced as the 2015 ARCA Midwest Tour Rookie of the Year.

Andrew Morrissey, Ricky Baker, Tim Sauter, and Anthony Danta earned a starting spot by finishing first through fourth respectively in the last chance race.

Majeski continued his strong weekend with another checkered flag in the JMcK 63, a special three 21-laps segment invitational for the Big 8 Series cars.

Majeski started on the pole for segment one of the JMcK 63. He led the first 11 laps until the caution flew with ten to go when Michael Ostdiek spun in turn two. Michael Beamish took the lead on the restart, but Majeski powered back taking the lead with two to go and went on for the checkered flag.

Cole Anderson held off a last lap charge from Majeski to win the second segment. Anderson took over the top spot from Jon Baumeister around the midway point. He finished third.

The final segment got the fans on their feet as Majeski drove through the field and went to the outside of Ryan Kamish going into turn three on final lap. It was a drag race coming out of turn four with Majeski taking the win by a bumper at the line.

Majeski was the overall winner with Chris Marek finishing second and Ryan Kamish won the tiebreaker over Rich Schuman Jr. for third place.

Overall, for the weekend, Majeski won three feature events by taking the La Crosse Late Model feature on Thursday night, Dick Trickle 99 on Friday and today’s JMcK 63.

Greg Scheck passed Rex Rossier with six laps to go and went on to win the Vintage car 20-lap feature event. Rossier came into the race with a $320 bounty if anyone can beat him. Rossier appeared to have the fastest car, but was challenged at the midway point by Chris Loberg until Loberg spun coming off of turn two. Scheck quickly closed in on Rossier and made the winning pass for the win at his home track.

Bob Lee and Ken Lewis won the Vintage car heats.

The 47th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend will take place on October 6 – 9, 2016 at La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway in West Salem, Wisconsin. Start making your plans now to attend next year’s event.

JMck Big 8 Invitational
Segment 1 (18 Cars) — 1. Ty Majeski, 2. Michael Beamish, 3. Rich Schumann Jr., 4. Chris Marek, 5. Jesse Bernhagen
Segment 2 (18 Cars) — 1. Cole Anderson, 2. Ty Majeski, 3. John Baumeister, 4. Ryan Kamish, 5.Chris Marek
Segment 3 (14 Cars) — 1. Ty Majeski, 2. Ryan Kamish, 3. Michael Ostdiek, 4. Jeremy Miller, 5. Chris Marek
JMck Big 8 Invitational Overall Finish (17 Cars) — 1. Ty Majeski, Seymour, 2. Chris Marek, Lakeville, MN, 3. Ryan Kamish, Farmington, MN, 4. Rich Schumann Jr., Portage, 5. Jeremy Miller, Rockton, IL, 6. Michael Ostdiek, Lakeville, MN, 7. Cole Anderson, Northfield, MN, 8. Jesse Bernhagen, Markesan, WI, 9. Micheal Beamish, Eagan, MN, 10. John Baumeister Jr., Beloit, 11. Brad Powell, LaCrosse, 12. Brody Willett, Alburnett, IA, 13. Shane Morrissey, Cuba City, WI, 14. Wayne Freimund, Elkmound, MN, 15. Mike Meyerhofer, Hilber, WI, 16. Kyle Shear, Roscoe, OH, 17. Gary Krueger, New Lisbon

ARCA Midwest Tour
Oktoberfest 200 Feature (28 Cars) — 1. Dan Fredrickson, 2. Jacob Goede, 3. Ty Majeski, 4. Nick Murgic, 5. Skylar Holzhausen, 6. Tim Sauter, 7. Natalie Decker, 8. Chris Weinkauf, 9. Travis Sauter, 10. Caleb Adrian, 11. Dalton Zehr, 12. Andy Jones, 13. Austin Nason, 14. Dennis Prunty, 15. Jonathan Eilen, 16. Nick Barstad, 17. Ricky Baker, 18. Dean LaPointe, 19. John DeAngeis Jr., 20. Jason Weinkauf, 21. Erik Darnell, 22. Johnny Sauter, 23. Jim Sauter, 24. Griffin McGrath, 25. Matt Kocourek, 26. James Swan, 27. Andrew Morrissey, 28. Anthony Danta
Last Chance Race — 1. Andew Morrissey, 2. Ricky Baker, 3. Tim Sauter, 4. Anthony Danta, 5. Nick Barstad

Vintage Cars
Oktoberfest 15 Feature (20 Cars) — 1. Woody Pool, Tinely Park, IL, 2. Rex Rossier, Plover, 3. Royce Rossier, Plover, 4. Ken Lewis, Black River Falls, 5. Pat Echlin, Dyer, IN, 6. Chris Loburg, Winona, 7. Darrell Paasch, Marshfield, 8. Bob Lee, Holmen, 9. Greg Cottone, Tomah, 10. John Vassh, Franksville, WI, 11. Paul Gilbertson, LaCrescent, MN, 12. Brennan Lewis, Wonder Lake, IL, 13. Scott Moldenhauer, Black River Falls, 14. John Meyer, Holmen, 15. Paul Dolphy, Mounds View, MN, 16. Tom Collins, Lake Mills, WI, 17. Pat Heaney, Greenfield, WI, 18. Jim Olson, Hixton, WI, 19. Ken Hutchens, Black River Falls, 20. Butch Mierendorf, Waterloo, WI
Heat 1 — 1. Bob Lee, 2. Greg Cottone, 3. Scott Moldenhauer, 4. Paul Gilbertson, 5. ???
Heat 2 — 1. Ken Lewis, 2. Woody Pool, 3. Rex Rossier, 4. Royce Rossier, 5. John Gilbertson

2015 Oktoberfest Race Weekend Awards
Showmanship – Ty Majeski
Best Appearing Crew – Jay VanderGeest
Charlie Simpson Best Appearing Car – Chris Weinkauf
Special Recognition – Doug Oliver
Larry Wehrs Dedication to Racing – Dick Trickle Memorial Project

LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway PO Box 853 N4985 Cty Rd M West Salem, WI 54669 https://www.lacrossespeedway.com 608-786-1525

Scroll to top