June 19, 2010

The 4th annual Smash-O-Rama presented by Powerade went off with a bang on Saturday Night at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway. On hand was a night of family fun while thrills and spills, crashes and spins entertained everyone on hand.

The Window World Hornets made their third appearance of the 2010 season, and each Powerade feature had its usual excitement. John Clements of Bangor and Kim Strom of West Salem, both Hornet Veteran racers, were able to take home a feature win. Clements swept the evening, with a preliminary heat race win. Additional heat winners were Matthew Moore of Tomah and Jake Schomers from LaCrescent MN.

Other race action included the wild and crazy Skidders, where fans saw Kyle Swenson come from behind to take the checkered flag in the feature, after leader Chris Larson spun around just feet from the checkers. To the crowd's delight, Swenson took the checkers in a pass at the finish.

In addition to the race action, "The Felon" and "Mechanical Mischief" monster trucks invaded the speedway and crushed nearly a dozen street cars. Hornet Driver Doug Gilbertson won the Roll-Over Contest, and it was a Chevrolet Beretta that had the longest running engine in the "Go 'Till They Blow" engine contest.

Veteran Stuntman Ben Allen performed his popular Steel Wall Crash and Gauntlet of Doom Crash sending cars flying in all directions. Ending the evening, Ben drove a great looking Cadillac completely through a Motorhome, in a T-Bone Crash. The fans concluded the evening watching a huge Fireworks Extravaganza which lit the sky.

Action Continues this Saturday night as Clason Buick-GMC presents the Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Models, North Country Contractors Sportsmen, United Auto Supply Thunderstox and the R.A.Y.S. Plus, there will be a Thunderstox Lights-Out Novelty Race in Total Darkness. In addition, it is the annual "Pre-Race Driver Autograph Session" at 6:30. Come out and meet the stars of the speedway, get autographs and take photos with the drivers. For more information about the LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway, please contact the office at 608-786-1525, visit www.lacrossespeedway.com or email lacrossespeedway@yahoo.com.

Window World Hornets

Powerade 15 #1:1. John Clements (Bangor, WI), 2. Matthew Moore (Kendall, Wi), 3. Dan Hundorf (Minnesota City, MN), 4. Lonnie Wood Sr. (Tomah, WI), 5. Matthew Carpenter (Trempealeau, wi), 6. Wayne Moore (Millston, WI), 7. Ron Buros (Viroqua, WI), 8. Andrew Myhre (Westby, WI), 9. Jason Moore (Millston, WI), 10. Rose Marie Moore (Kendall, WI), 11. Kyle Swenson (Sparta, WI), 12. Andrew Miller (Tomah, WI), 13. Megan Urch (Bangor, WI), 14. Chris Sampson (Bangor, WI), 15. Casey Thundercloud (Tomah, WI), 16. Lonnie Wood Jr. (Tomah, WI), 17. Cody Eirschele (La Crosse, WI), 18. Paul Mahlum III (Holmen, wi), 19. Steven Rusch (Holmen, WI), 20. Richard Babcock (Tomah, WI), 21. Joshua Myer (Black River Falls, wi),

Powerade 15 #2:1. Kim Strom (West Salem, WI), 2. Kevin Turner (LaCrosse, WI), 3. Tim Murphy Sr. (Tomah, WI), 4. Ron Amann (West Salem, WI), 5. Joey Johnson (North Bend, WI), 6. Jack Litsheim (LaCrosse, WI), 7. Justin Abbott (Sparta, WI), 8. Harley Jankowski (Sparta, WI), 9. Larry Holets (Rochester, MN), 10. John Piotrowski (Black River Falls, WI), 11. Wendy Liebsch (Winona, MN), 12. Melissa Hopkins (La Crosse, WI), 13. Chris Swenson (Tomah, WI), 14. Kelly Poff (Tomah, WI), 15. Doug Gilbertson (, MN), 16. Cam Dezelske (La Crosse, WI), 17. Jake Schomers (La Crescent, MN), 18. John Rinartz (North Bend, Wi), 19. Mike Carlson (West Salem, WI), 20. Andrew Moore (Camp Douglas, WI),

Heat 1:1. John Clements (Bangor, WI), 2. Wayne Moore (Millston, WI), 3. Ron Burus (Viroqua, WI), 4. Wendy Liebsch (Winona, MN), 5. Andrew Miller (Tomah, WI), 6. Kyle Swenson (Sparta, WI), 7. Megan Urch (Bangor, WI), 8. Richard Babcock (Tomah, WI), 9. Kelly Poff (Tomah, WI), 10. John Rinartz (North Bend, WI), 11. Melissa Hopkins (La Crosse, WI), 12. Rose Marie Moore (Kendall, WI), 13. John Piotrowski (Black River Falls, WI), 14. Lonnie Wood Jr. (Tomah, WI),

Heat 2:1. Matthew Moore (Kendall, Wi), 2. Andrew Myhre (Westby, WI), 3. Harley Jankowski (Sparta, WI), 4. Matthew Carpenter (Trempealeau, wi), 5. Steven Rusch (Holmen, WI), 6. Mike Carlson (West Salem, WI), 7. Dan Hundorf (Minnesota City, MN), 8. Lonnie Wood Sr. (Tomah, WI), 9. Jason Moore (Millston, WI), 10. Paul Mahlum III (Holmen, wi), 11. Casey Thundercloud (Tomah, WI), 12. Joshua Myer (Black River Falls, wi),

Heat 3:1. Jake Schomers (La Crescent, MN), 2. Joey Johnson (North Bend, WI), 3. Doug Gilbertson (, MN), 4. Larry Holets (Rochester, MN), 5. Ron Amann (West Salem, WI), 6. Kim Strom (West Salem, WI), 7. Cam Dezelske (La Crosse, WI), 8. Kevin Turner (LaCrosse, WI), 9. Jack Litsheim (LaCrosse, WI), 10. Justin Abbott (Sparta, WI), 11. Cody Eirschele (La Crosse, WI), 12. Andrew Moore (Camp Douglas, WI), 13. Chris Swenson (Tomah, WI), 14. Tim Murphy Sr. (Tomah, WI), 15. Chris Sampson (Bangor, WI),

Skidders

A Feature: 1. Kyle Swenson (Sparta, WI), 2. Chris Larson (La Crosse, WI), 3. Steven Rusch (Holmen, WI),

Heat:1. Chris Larson (La Crosse, WI), 2. Kyle Swenson (Sparta, WI), 3. Steven Rusch (Holmen, WI),